How the Transportation Department Is Organized

The transportation department serves the citizens of Idaho from its headquarters in Boise and six district offices in Coeur d'Alene, Lewiston, Boise, Shoshone, Pocatello and Rigby. ITD's 1,827 employees are committed to operating a transportation system that is safe and is an integral part of the state's economy..

Reorganization in 2011 streamlined the department, making it more efficient and responsive. The executive team, led by the director, includes the chief deputy officer, chief operations officer, Chief Administrative Officer and Chief Human Resource Officer. Collectively they are responsible for six divisions: Administration, Aeronautics, Highways, Human Resources, Motor Vehicles, and Transportation Performance..

Four other support offices also report to the director: Governmental Affairs, Communications, Internal Review and Legal.

The Idaho Transportation Board, whose members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Idaho Senate, provide policy and direction for the department. The board consists of one representative from each of ITD's six districts and a chairman who conducts meetings and votes on board resolutions in the event of a tie.