Idaho Transportation Department
DMV HomeOn-Line ServicesNew to Idaho?Driver ServicesVehicle ServicesMotor Carrier Services / Ports of EntryDriver Licensing OfficesVehicle Licensing OfficesCounty WebsitesOther State DMV LinksInformation for Idaho Military PersonnelManualsLinksRecent LegislationIdaho Motor Vehicle LawsAdmin. RulesVoter RegistrationDMV Historytrucking.idaho.govContact Us
This fact sheet provides basic information regarding salvage vehicles, and provides instructions for applying for salvage certificates and subsequent branded titles with the Idaho Transportation Department.
Rebuilt Salvage Vehicle: A vehicle previously declared salvage that has been rebuilt or repaired using like make and model parts and visually appears as a vehicle that was originally constructed under a distinctive manufacturer. [Section 49-123(2)(l), Idaho Code]
Salvage Vehicle: Any vehicle: (1) having a salvage certificate, salvage bill of sale, or other documentation showing evidence that the vehicle has been declared salvage; (2) which has been damaged to the extent that the owner or an insurer or other person acting on behalf of the owner, determines that the cost of parts and labor minus the salvage value makes it uneconomical to repair or rebuild; or (3) for which an insurance company has paid money or made other settlement as compensation for a total-loss vehicle. [Section 49-123(2)(o), Idaho Code]
Theft Recovery: A vehicle acquired by an insurance company in the settlement of a theft claim that has been recovered and is not damaged to the extent that it is a salvage vehicle. [Section 49-524(11), Idaho Code]
Total Loss Vehicle: Every vehicle deemed uneconomical to repair. A total loss shall occur when an insurance company or any other person pays or makes other monetary settlement to the owner when it is deemed to be uneconomical to repair that damaged vehicle. The compensation for total loss does not include payments by an insurer or other person for medical care, bodily injury, vehicle rental, or for anything other than the amount paid for the actual damage to the vehicle. [Section 49-123(2)(r), Idaho Code]
Owner-Retained Salvage: A vehicle declared a total loss that is being retained by the titled owner following the settlement.
Salvage Pool: A licensed vehicle dealer engaged primarily in the business of disposing of salvage vehicles, recovered stolen vehicles, or both. [Section 49-120(4), Idaho Code]
SALVAGE CERTIFICATE ISSUANCE:
INSURANCE COMPANIES & SALVAGE POOLS: APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE CERTIFICATE
OWNER-RETAINED VEHICLES: APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE CERTIFICATE; (NOTIFICATIONS TO DEPARTMENT)
To obtain a salvage certificate, the applicant needs to submit the following to the department at the address indicated on the application:
If the owner of a retained salvage vehicle fails to surrender the title and be issued a salvage certificate, or sells the vehicle and does not tell the buyer that the vehicle is totaled, he is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six (6) months in jail, a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or both [Section 49-524(8), Idaho Code].
The insurance company making the payoff for an owner-retained vehicle must notify the department of the payoff within 30 days. [Section 49-524(9), Idaho Code].
APPLICATION FOR BRANDED TITLE:
After a salvage vehicle has been repaired to meet the equipment requirements of Title 49, Chapter 9, Idaho Code, the owner may take the salvage certificate to his county assessor’s motor vehicle office to apply for a branded title, and to register the vehicle. There, he will need to complete a Salvage Vehicle Statement (form ITD 3311), and pay a $14.00 title fee. Vehicles with salvage certificates cannot be registered until an application for title has been completed and submitted. The owner may apply for title and register it at the same time.
After a salvage certificate has been surrendered with an application for title and other pertinent forms and fees, the title will be issued with the brand “Rebuilt Salvage”. The brand will appear in the “Other Pertinent Data” section of the title, just below the vehicle description and to the right of the owner information. The brand will remain on the title for the life of the vehicle.
OUT-OF-STATE SALVAGE VEHICLES:
If a salvage vehicle is acquired in a state or jurisdiction which does not require the surrender of the title or comparable ownership document, the purchaser must surrender the title and apply for an Idaho salvage certificate within 30 days of receipt of the title. [Section 49-524(12), Idaho Code]
If a vehicle titled in Idaho becomes a salvage vehicle (according to Idaho’s definition) in another state, the owner or insurer must notify the Idaho Transportation Department and any purchaser in writing of the salvage status. If the vehicle returns to Idaho, it will be branded “Rebuilt Salvage”, or a comparable brand on an out-of-state title will be carried forward. (IDAPA 39.02.07.200.03)
If an insurer acquires the properly released title or other comparable ownership document for a vehicle in a settlement of a theft claim, the insurer shall immediately surrender it to the department along with an application for salvage certificate in the name of the insurer, the salvage certificate fee, and other documents as required by the department for processing. [Section 49-524(10), Idaho Code]
If the vehicle is subsequently recovered and is not a salvage vehicle due to damage, the insurance company must complete an Indemnifying Affidavit (form ITD 3410) stating these facts, and deliver this form and the salvage certificate to any purchaser. When the documents are submitted with an application for title, the subsequent title will carry the notation “Theft Recovery” in the “Other Pertinent Data” section of the title. Section 49-524(11), Idaho Code]
Any vehicle declared a salvage vehicle that is required to be titled must comply with salvage requirements explained in this fact sheet. Vessels required to be titled or which have been optionally titled which have been declared salvage must also comply with these requirements. [Section 49-501A, Idaho Code]
All forms referenced in this fact sheet are available at your local county assessor’s motor vehicle office. They are also available in a fillable format on the Internet at dmv.idaho.gov.
This fact sheet has been provided by:
Idaho Transportation Department • Vehicle Services • Post Office Box 7129 • Boise, Idaho 83707-1129
The Idaho Transportation Department is committed to full compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act and all related regulations.
For more information call the EEO Office at (208) 334-8884.