Idaho Transportation Department
About Us Travel Services DMV Get Involved News and Information
Printer-Friendly Version
ITD Home News and Info Contact Us

Winter Maintenance HomeWinter Maintenance OverviewLiquid Anti-IcingDrivers Winter ResponsibilitiesWinter Driving ChecklistStudded Snow TiresMaintenance Home


Home Page

Welcome to the Idaho Transportation Department's Winter Maintenance Web site. This site provides information about the transportation department's efforts to keep Idaho's highway system safe and clear during the snow season. The site consists of:

  • Winter Maintenance Overview: This page explains how ITD prepares for the snow season and how it decides the order that roads should be cleared.
  • Winter Driving Checklist: Is your vehicle ready for winter? Do you have what you need in case of an emergency? Find out on this page.

Note: These documents are provided in Adobe® Acrobat™ (.pdf) format. To view and/or print these forms you will need to download the Adobe® Acrobat™  Reader Version 4.0 or later. To get a free copy of the software, click the "Get Acrobat" image.   


For more information in your area, please contact the appropriate District:

District 1
Jason Minzghor, District Operations Manager
Phone 772-1224
600 W. Prairie Ave.
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83815-8764
Counties: Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai, Shoshone

District 2
Doral Hoff, District Operations Engineer
Phone 799-4255
600 Frontage Road, P.O. Box 837
Lewiston, Idaho 83501-0837
Counties: Clearwater, Idaho, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce

District 3
Tom Points, District Maintenance Engineer
Phone 334-8347
8150 Chinden Blvd., P.O. Box 8028
Boise, Idaho 83714-8028
Counties: Ada, Adams, Boise, Canyon, Elmore, Gem, Owyhee, Payette, Valley, Washington

District 4
Kimbol Allen, District Operations Engineer
Phone 886-7805
216 S. Date St., P.O. Box 2-A
Shoshone, Idaho 83352-0820
Counties: Blaine, Camas, Cassia, Gooding, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka, Twin Falls

District 5
Steve Gertonson, District Operations Engineer
Phone 239-3309
5151 South Fifth Ave, P.O. Box 4700
Pocatello, Idaho 83205-4700
Counties: Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Caribou, Franklin, Oneida, Power

District 6
Ken Hahn, District Operations Engineer
Phone 745-5640
206 N. Yellowstone Ave., P.O. Box 97
Rigby, Idaho 83442-0097
Counties: Bonneville, Butte, Clark, Custer, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, Teton

Page Last Modified: 10/31/2013 11:20:08 AM

About Us | Traveler Services | DMV | Projects | News And Info | Reader-Friendly | Privacy & Security
Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W. State Street · P.O. Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129