ITD HomeOHS HomeClick It The Root Family Story Seat Belt Educational Materials Seat Belt Cost Savings Observational Seat Belt SurveysNational Occupant Protection ProgramsIdaho Seat Belt Law
Idaho State Seat Belt Law
The actual Idaho code,
49-673, can be accessed by clicking on the link.
Idaho law requires everyone in a vehicle to wear safety restraints. Other
provisions under the law include:
- Adult violators, 18 and older, are subject to a $10
- An adult driver is ticketed for passengers younger
than 18 who are not properly restrained.
- If the driver is younger than 18 and the driver or any
occupant younger than 18 fails to wear a seat belt, court costs are added to
the fine. The $10 fine and court costs total $51.50.
- A law
enforcement officer can issue a citation solely for a safety restraint
violation, but there must be another violation leading to the traffic stop.