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 Application For Vehicle Or Vessel ITD 3172   (Rev. 04-16) 
 Manufacturer/Distributor License itd.idaho.gov 

Idaho Transportation Department 
Instructions 
This packet contains the forms required to license as a vehicle or vessel manufacturer/distributor in Idaho.   Idaho requires that manufacturers/distributors who 
are annually building five (5) or more trailers over 2,000 pounds or distributing vehicles/vessels that require a title, to obtain a manufacturer/distributor license. 
If these products are being sold retail to the public the manufacturer/distributor is also required to obtain a dealer license (ITD 3170). The 
manufacturer/distributor license does not require that the business provide the state with a bond. 

The state requires the manufacturers  of vehicles/trailers to submit a proper Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) configuration. The VIN is a seventeen (17) 
character number that contains an identifier for the business. If motorcycles are used on road they must also be FMVSS/EPA approved to be used on Idaho 
roads.  Manufacturers/distributors of vessels are required to submit a proper Hull Identification Number (HIN) configuration. The HIN is a twelve (12) 
character serial number that uniquely identifies the vessel.  

The state also requires that the manufacturer submit for approval a sample Manufacturers Certificate of Origin (MCO) (Also know as MSO, or Manufacturers 
Statement of Origin) on approved safety paper. The Dealer Operations Program Supervisor of the Idaho Transportation Department will determine if the MCO 
or MSO meets the minimum standards required.   Motorcycle MCO or MSO must indicate if they qualify for on road or off road use.  For more detailed 
information regarding the VIN/HIN configurations or Idaho's standards for the MCO, please contact Dealer Services at (208) 334-8681. 

If the applicant's business is in the name of a Corporation, Limited Liability Corporation (LLC), or Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), a copy of the Status 
from the Secretary of State's Office must be submitted.  If the applicant is an individual company or corporation doing business under any other name, an 
assumed or fictitious name filing must be applied for and recorded with the Secretary of State's Office.  Submit verification of the filing with this application. 

A certificate of liability insurance is required for insurance in the amount of not less than $25,000 bodily injury or death for one person or $50,000 for two 
people and $15,000 for injury or destruction of property.  (Effective July 01, 2006) 

WARNING:  It is recommended that you call Dealer Services at (208) 334-8681 to make sure a Doing Business As (DBA) name is not deceptively similar to 
another business name before submitting the application to the Idaho Transportation Department. 

Submit the completed application, required attachments, and fees to: Vehicle Services - Dealer Licensing 
Idaho Transportation Department 
PO Box 34 
Boise ID  83731-0034 

Upon receipt of the required information and fees, the Dealer Licensing Unit will assign a Motor Vehicle Investigator to inspect the principal place of 
business for compliance with the Dealer/Salesman Licensing Act and ITD Rules. 

Applicants are cautioned to allow at least 30 days for license processing. Failure to complete all the necessary forms and supply the required information may 
delay this process. 

Licensing Fees  Fee Calculation 
 
Initial Application New Manufacturer ................................................... $190.00 

 

 
Manufacturer License Fee  $  

Distributor  ........................................ $  

No. of Factory Reps   x $44  $  

No. and Type of Manufacturer Plates Requested 
  Regular Plates 
  Motorcycle Plates 
  Restricted Use Plates 
_____ Total x $20.74 ....................... $  

Total Amount Due .......................... $  
 

Distributor ........................................................................................... $175.00 

Manufacturer License Plates (Each). .................................................. $  20.74  

Change of Location ............................................................................. $  44.00  

Duplicate Documents (Each) .............................................................. $  18.00  

Factory Representatives (Each) ......................................................... $  44.00 

  

Idaho Checklist 
 Fees enclosed (make check payable to Idaho Transportation Department) 
 Application completed in full with all signatures of the owners/officers/directors notarized 

 Proof of Corporate, LLC, or LLP Status from the Secretary of State's Office and a list of officers 

 Proof of fictitious or assumed name recording (including all owners' names) from the Secretary of State's Office 

 VIN/HIN configuration 
 MCO/MSO complying sample 
 Personal History form (ITD 3181) for each owner/officer/director/partner/factory representative 
 Liability Insurance Certificate 
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Idaho Transportation Department 
 
Application Date No. of Regular Plates Requested No. of Motorcycle Plates Requested No. of Restricted Use Plates Requested 

    
 
Type of Application (Check One) (A Separate Application Must be Completed for Each Type) 

 New Application Change of  Location  Ownership/Officers/Members  Business Name 

 
Type of Vehicle/Vessel Manufactured/Distributed (Check All That Apply) 

 Automobile 
 Truck 

 ATV 
 Motorcycle 

 Recreational Vehicle 
 Trailer over 2,000 lb. 

 Vessel 
 Personal Water Craft 

 Snowmobile 
 UTV 

 
Manufacturer/Distributor Information (Check One) (Complete All  Information Requested Below and See Instructions on Page 1) 

 Individual  Partnership  Corporation 
  Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)  Limited Liability Corporation (LLC) 

 

Owner's Name(s) or Corporation/LLP/LLC Name 

 

Idaho Code 53-504 requires any business doing business as (DBA) a name other than the legal owner's name to file a Certificate of 
Assumed Business Name with the Secretary of State's Office.  Idaho Code 53-504 exempts a corporation from this requirement, unless 
the corporation is using an assumed business name. 
 

Manufacturer or Trade Name (DBA) 

 

Business Phone Number Fax Number Cell Phone Number 

   

Street Address City State, Zip 

    

Mailing Address City State, Zip 

    

Directions to Manufacturer (If Other Than a Street Address) 

 

Name of Person or Persons Having Legal Custody of Real Property 

 

List the name and title of each individual owner, partner, officer, or stockholder of the business.  A Personal History (ITD 3181) is required 
for each individual listed below (attach a separate sheet, if necessary). 
 

Name Title Name Title 
    

Name Title Name Title 

    

Name Title Name Title 
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 Idaho Code 49-1610 requires appointment of the Director of the  ITD 3172   (Rev. 04-16) 
 Idaho Transportation Department as a legal agent for the manufacturer/distributor. itd.idaho.gov 

Complete appropriate section below.  All signatures must be notarized. 
Section I Individual Includes both husband and wife. 
I certify under Penalty of Perjury that I am the sole owner of (Name of Business) __________________________________________ 
______________________________________ and that all answers and information contained in this application are true and correct. 

I hereby appoint the Director of the Idaho Transportation Department as my true and lawful agent for the purpose of the service of 
process(es) in any action(s) that may hereafter be commenced against me and/or my manufacturing business for alleged violations of Chapter 
16 Title 49 Idaho Code.  This agency shall continue during the period covered by any license that may be issued to me and so long thereafter 
as I may be made to answer for any violations of the aforementioned Idaho Code. 
Signature Signature 
  

 

Section II (Check One)  Partnership   Limited Liability Partnership  
We certify under Penalty of Perjury that we are co-partners in (Name of Business) _________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________ and that no other person is associated in the ownership of the business, and that all 
answers and information contained in this application are true and correct. 

We hereby appoint the Director of the Idaho Transportation Department as our true and lawful agent for the purpose of the service of 
process(es) in any action(s) that may hereafter be commenced against us and/or our manufacturing business for alleged violations of Chapter 
16 Title 49 Idaho Code.  This agency shall continue during the period covered by any license that may be issued to us and so long thereafter 
as we may be made to answer for any violations of the aforementioned Idaho Code. 
Signature Signature Signature 
   
Signature Signature Signature 
   

 

Section III (Check One)   Corporation   Limited Liability Corporation  
All owners, partners, or a majority of corporate officers must sign. 
I/We certify under Penalty of Perjury that (Name of Business) _________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________ is incorporated in the state of Idaho and is authorized to transact business in 
Idaho, and that all answers and information contained in this application are true and correct. 

I/We, as Officer(s) of the Corporation, hereby appoint the Director of the Idaho Transportation Department as my/our true and lawful agent 
for the purpose of the service of process(es) in any action(s) that may hereafter be commenced against my/our manufacturing business for 
alleged violations of Chapter 16 Title 49 Idaho Code.  This agency shall continue during the period covered by any license that may be issued to 
the corporation and so long thereafter as I/we may be made to answer for any violations of the aforementioned Idaho Code. 
Officer's Signature Officer's Signature Officer's Signature 
   

Officer's Signature Officer's Signature Officer's Signature 
   

 
 

STATE OF IDAHO   ) 
   ) ss: 
COUNTY OF   ) 
 
On this   day of  ,    , before me, the undersigned, a Notary Public in and for said state, 
 
personally appeared  , known to me or  
 

proved to me to be the person(s) who executed the instrument and acknowledged to me that he/she/they executed the same. 
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my official seal the day and year the certificate was first above written. 

(SEAL) 

  
 NOTARY PUBLIC for the State of Idaho 

Residing at    
 
My commission expires  ,     
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