
TEN EASY STEPS TO A C.D.L. (September 2017 revision) 
(for Self-Study CDL applicants with some experience in truck/bus operation) 

 

1. OBTAIN A CDL MANUAL:   Pick up a copy of the Idaho CDL manual at 
your local Sheriff’s Office Driver’s License office. The most current 
version of the Idaho CDL manual is also available online here:            
http://itd.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/cdl_manual.pdf 
  
You can download the PDF file to your phone, computer, or tablet, or 
obtain a paper manual. Earlier versions of the manual are fine for 
general study, but be sure to review the first chapter in the latest 
version of the manual to keep up with FMCSA required changes.   
 

2. REVIEW MEDICAL REQUIREMENTS:   Read the applicable pages in 
Chapter One of the CDL manual to see if you are required to have a 
medical examiner’s certificate for the driving you intend to do. MOST 
commercial driving activities require a medical certificate.  The 
following link will take you to a list of commodities and whether they 
are exempt (no medical card needed for INTRASTATE hauling) or 
regulated (medical card required for all commercial hauling purposes): 
http://www.isp.idaho.gov/cvs/commodities.html 
 

3. GET YOUR MEDICAL:   A Department of 
Transportation (DOT) physical examination is conducted 
by a licensed medical provider. A DOT physical exam is 
valid for up to 24 months. The examiner may also issue 
a medical examiner's certificate for less than 24 months 
when it is desirable to monitor a medical condition.   
The provider must be listed on the “National Registry 
of Certified Medical Examiners”. Contact your primary 
care provider to inquire if they are National Registry 
certified to conduct a "DOT physical exam." A list of 
National Registry certified providers in your area can be 
found here: 
https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/NRPublicUI/home.seam 

 

4. STUDY THE REQUIRED PORTIONS OF THE CDL MANUAL:  Near the front of the CDL manual is a chart that 
will tell you what chapters to study for the needed Commercial License and related endorsement(s); that is, air 
brakes, combination vehicles, etc.  Your particular equipment combination will dictate what you need to study 
and test for.  If you have a vehicle with air brakes, you’ll need that test.  For a class A CDL, you must take the 
Combination Vehicles test.  The General Knowledge test is required of all new CDL applicants.   Details on 
testing are below.   
 

5. GO TO A COUNTY SHERIFF’S DRIVER’S LICENSING OFFICE: 
 

 START THE CDL PROCESS:   Tell the Examiner you are there 
to begin the process of obtaining a CDL.  They will have you 
complete an application for a CDL, and will help you 
declare a driving category—a federal rule to determine 
whether you plan to drive only in Idaho or interstate, and 
whether you are medical card required (“non-excepted”) 
or not required (“excepted”). 
 

http://itd.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/cdl_manual.pdf
http://www.isp.idaho.gov/cvs/commodities.html
https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/NRPublicUI/home.seam


 BRING YOUR MEDICAL CERTIFICATE:  If you are required to have a medical certificate, obtain it BEFORE 
you begin this process, and take it with you to the DMV.  They will scan a copy of your medical certificate 
card to be incorporated into your driving record.  All commercial drivers who are “non-excepted” must 
submit a medical certificate to your county DMV or ITD when obtained and upon each renewal.   If you 
are for some reason ineligible to obtain a DOT Medical, you CANNOT drive a commercial vehicle in 
interstate commerce, unless you plan to work for a government agency or other excepted interstate 
category. The following website contains more information about CDL medical requirements:   

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/medical.htm 
 

 BRING YOUR BIRTH CERTIFICATE, US PASSPORT, or OTHER PROOF OF PERMANENT LEGAL PRESENCE IN 
THE UNITED STATES.  Federal rules require all existing and new CDL Holders to present proof of legal 
presence in the United States to the DMV to be entered on the driver’s record.  This will only need to be 
done one time. 
 

 TAKE THE REQUIRED KNOWLEDGE TESTS: When you’re 
ready, take your written knowledge tests.  The written 
tests are $3.00 each.  Some county DMV’s only do CDL 
testing in the mornings, so call your DMV to see what 
their testing hours are, or just go early in the day.                         
 
You should take and pass the General Knowledge test 
before attempting to take other tests.  While it is 
permissible to do so, most applicants should not 
attempt to take multiple tests on the same day.  Test 
results remain valid for one year from the date they 
were passed- if you don’t obtain your CDL in that year 
you must re-take all the written tests.  If you fail a test, 
you can re-test in three days (and pay another 
three dollars). 

 
 OBTAIN A SKILLS TEST RECEIPT:  After you have 

passed your written tests, get a skills test receipt. It 
costs $10 and you will later give it to the skills 
tester when you test, so he knows you have passed 
the written tests.  Written tests must be taken 
before the skills test can be administered.  File the 
receipt in a safe place until you go to take your 
skills test—don’t lose it!  

 
 OBTAIN A COMMERCIAL LEARNER’S PERMIT:  You 

must obtain a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) to 
obtain or upgrade a commercial license.  The permit 
costs $29 and is valid for 180 days. It allows you to 
drive a truck or bus on public streets to practice 
driving a commercial vehicle.  You must have a 
licensed CDL driver rated to drive the equipment 
you are practicing in riding with you at all times 
when on public streets.  The licensed driver must 
be sitting in the right seat (trucks) or in the row 
behind the driver (busses) with you when you are 
practicing on public streets. Federal Rules require 
you have a CLP for at least 14 days before you can 
take a skills test.   

 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/medical.htm


6. PRACTICE THE PRE-TRIP INSPECTION:   During the 14 day waiting period, practice, practice, practice! 
The pre-trip must be done on any commercial vehicle you test in, regardless of size or type. Most applicants 
who fail the skills test do so by not preparing well enough for the pre-trip inspection.  Do the following before 
attempting to take your skills test: 
 

 STUDY CHAPTER 11 THOROUGHLY:  There is a sample Pre-Trip Inspection form in the back of the CDL 
manual you can use while practicing.  If it’s on your vehicle and on that form, you need to memorize it 
for the test.  There are plenty of components you are required to memorize, so concentrate on those 
items. If it’s not on the form, it’s not on the test.  It is imperative that you know how to do the brake test 
on the vehicle you will be testing in.  Doing the brake check improperly will result in failing the test.     
You will have 45 minutes to complete your pre-trip inspection on test day. 

  
 WATCH THE VIDEO(s):  Idaho CDL Examiner Steve Lloyd of Meridian made a video using a small Class A 

combination vehicle which helps CDL applicants prepare for the CDL test.  This short film will help show 
you HOW TO DO THE VEHICLE INSPECTION; that is, what the examiner expects you to describe to him or 
her as you are inspecting your vehicle.  It also shows the backing exercises; it’s a very useful video. 
 

 TRUCK INSPECTION VIDEO: Steve’s video can be found at:  www.cdlidaho.com -- Click on the 
“video” link.   

 SCHOOL BUS VIDEO:  Click here for a  helpful video on pre-trip inspections for school busses:     
  http://viewpure.com/gaTFy7Ssgm0 

 

There is no cost to watch these videos.  These useful tools will reinforce what you already know, and 
give you a much better idea of how to conduct your inspection on test day. Note:  Watching either of 
the videos alone will not thoroughly prepare you to take the skills test.  Neither video covers 100% of the 
Idaho Skills Test requirements, but both are extremely helpful for study.  Use the videos as a helpful 
guide to show you how to tell the inspector what you are looking for, in addition to studying all required 
parts of Chapter 11. 

 

7. PRACTICE THE BACKING MANEUVERS DESCRIBED IN CHAPTER 12: Refer to the diagrams and 
measurements shown in Chapter 12, and set up a practice course in a suitable area.   
  

 The “Straight line back” and “Offset Back” 
maneuvers are required of all applicants.  

 
 The Examiner will select either the alley dock 

or parallel park maneuver on test day, so you 
should practice both of those maneuvers.   

 
 Time Limits on the tests are designed to 

allow sufficient time for beginning drivers 
(who have practiced) to complete the 
maneuvers without penalty.  Unprepared applicants who go over the time limit will have points added 
to their score, and may not pass the exercise.   

 Use “looks”, pull ups, and reference markers as described in the manual if you need them during the 
test.  Just like in the “real world”, pulling up your vehicle or getting out to check your position during 
backing is less costly than running into something!   

 Excessive pull-ups are deducted from your score, but the deduction for pulling up is less than that of 
crossing a boundary line or cone and causing an encroachment. 

 

http://www.cdlidaho.com/
http://viewpure.com/gaTFy7Ssgm0


8. PREPARE FOR THE ROAD TEST:  For the road test, review Chapter 13 in the CDL manual. 
   

 Make sure you know how to conduct a proper “Stop/Start” exercise, as described in the manual;  

 Know where to stop at intersections.   

 If taking a school bus test, you will need to study the student discharge requirements in Chapter 10.   

 Make sure you move your head as you check your mirrors, pass through intersections, etc. so the 

examiner can see that you are checking for traffic and hazards.   

 Maintain frequent checks in your mirrors.  

 Keep both hands on the wheel unless you are shifting. 

 Know how your vehicle off-tracks.  Running over curbs or other objects will result in failing the test.  

 Know how to shift the vehicle you are driving.  Practice until you can shift smoothly. 

 Obey all traffic laws and travel at the speed limit unless weather or traffic requires an adjustment. 

 Pay attention to highway signs that a commercial driver should observe.  You will be tested on them! 

 

9. SCHEDULE & TAKE THE SKILLS TEST:  Contact one of the 
CDL Skills Test Examiners in your area to make an 
appointment for your test.  The test normally takes about 
two hours.  Most Idaho CDL examiners have full time jobs 
and do tests as a part time service to the state, so you may 
have to work around their schedule. The Skills Test fee is 
set by each examiner; the fee is not to exceed $190 per 
test per Idaho Code.  Most examiners take cash only, but 
some accept cards or checks.  Refer to the CDL Examiner 
list for payment methods, rental vehicles available, etc.:  
http://itd.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/cdl_testers.pdf 
  
IMPORTANT NOTES:  

 FMCSA rules require that you hold your Commercial Learner’s Permit for 14 days minimum before 
testing, even if you have a CDL and are just upgrading your license 

 You MUST contact the examiner well in advance- Examiners are required to notify ITD a minimum of 48 
hours before any CDL test 

 BRING THE RIGHT EQUIPMENT TO THE TEST!  MANY VEHICLES WILL RESULT IN A RESTRICTED LICENSE: 
 
 “E” RESTRICTION:  Testing in a truck or bus with an automatic transmission will result in a 

restriction being placed on your CDL that you can ONLY drive commercial vehicles with automatic 
transmissions.   

 “O” RESTRICTION:  Testing in a Class A combination that is NOT a TRACTOR-TRAILER with a fifth 
wheel hitch will result in a restriction being placed on your CDL that you can only drive Class A 
vehicles that are not Tractor Trailers. This restriction includes most log trucks and other big trucks 
with pintle hitches! 

 “L” RESTRICTION:  Testing in a vehicle that does not have air brakes will result in this restriction. 
 

 Have a CDL licensed driver go with you to the test site unless you can legally drive your commercial 
vehicle there under a farm or other exemption.   

 Don’t forget your: Driver’s license, commercial learner’s permit, skills test receipt from the county, 
registration, and proof of insurance.   

 Make sure your vehicle’s lights and equipment are working properly, or you cannot take the test in that 
vehicle. Our examiners appreciate it if the interior of your truck or bus is reasonably clean on test day.   

 

http://itd.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/cdl_testers.pdf


10. OBTAIN & ADD TO YOUR CDL:  Once you pass the skills test, the examiner will transmit your test results to ITD 
for processing.   

 You MUST return to the county DMV to have your 
new Commercial License issued.   

 The cost is $40 and it’s good for 4 years.   
 Once you have your “base” CDL, you can later add 

endorsements by taking written tests for Double & 
Triple trailer, Tank Vehicles, or Hazardous materials.   

 Some endorsements (or removal of restrictions) will 
require additional skills tests.   

 
 

 

TYPICAL C.D.L. ACQUISITION COSTS 

ITEM COST NOTES AVERAGE TOTAL 

WRITTEN TESTS $3 EACH $9-15 depending on 
endorsements desired 

$12 

SKILLS TEST $Varies Typically $ 100-150  to 
examiner, $10 to county, up to 
$200 or more for rental truck if 
needed 

$120 if using 
your own vehicle 

INSTRUCTION 
PERMIT 

$29 Required for all CDL tests and 
upgrades, and to practice on 
roadway prior to testing 

$29 

LICENSING VARIES $15 to add an endorsement 
after original issue; $25 to 
upgrade a license; $40 for 4 
year CDL  

$40 TYPICALLY 

MEDICAL 
EXAM 

IF 
REQUIRED 

$60-150- costs vary widely;  
every two years or more 
frequently if needed 

$125 

HAZMAT 
ENDORSEMENT 

IF 
REQUIRED 

$86.50 for the Hazmat Threat 
Assessment every four years 
+ $3 written test every 4 years 

$90 

 
I hope you have found this information useful.  Call if you have any questions. 
 

 

 


