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The Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) is committed to compliance with Title VI of the Civil 
Rights Act of 1964 and all related regulations and directives.  ITD assures that no person shall 
on the grounds of race, color, national origin, gender, age, or disability be excluded from 
participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under 
any ITD service, program, or activity.  The department also assures that every effort will be 
made to prevent discrimination through the impacts of its programs, policies, and activities on 
minority and low-income populations.  In addition, the department will take reasonable steps 
to provide meaningful access to services for persons with limited English proficiency. 

This manual and the LŘŀƘƻ 5ǊƛǾŜǊΩǎ aŀƴǳŀƭ must both be studied in preparation for your CDL 
examinations.  Both manuals paraphrase the language of the Idaho Motor Vehicle Code.  
Courts go by the actual language of the code, not these texts. 



 

 
 

How to Use This Manual  
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Does the vehicle require 
hazardous material placards? 

Does the vehicle 
or combination 
of vehicles have 
ŀ ƳŀƴǳŦŀŎǘǳǊŜǊΩǎ 
weight rating 
(GVWR) of 
26,001 pounds or 
more? 

Is the vehicle a combination 
vehicle towing a unit over 10,000 
pounds GVWR? 

Does the single vehicle have a 
GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more? 

Is the vehicle designed by the 
manufacturer (placarded) to 
carry 16 or more passengers, 
including the driver? 

You need a CDL 

You need a CDL 

You need a CDL 

You DO NOT need a CDL 

You need a CDL 

NO 

 

YES 

YES 

 

YES 

 

YES 

 

NO 

NO 

 

NO 

 

NO 

 

YES 

 

Note:  A bus may 
be either Class B 
or C depending 
on whether the 
GVWR is 26,001 
pounds or more. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To Obtain License Type 

Chapters to Study 

1 2 3 4 5* 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 

Class A X X X  X X     X X X 

Class B X X X  X      X X X 

Class C X X X  X      X X X 

To Obtain 
Endorsements: 

 

Hazardous Materials   X X     X X     

Double/Triples   X X  X X X       

Tank Vehicle   X X     X X     

Passenger  X X X       X X X 

School Bus  X X X      X X X X 

*Study Chapter 5 if you plan to operate vehicles equipped with air brakes.  

Knowledge Test Information:  

Specific Test: Number of 
Questions: 

Minimum 
Correct to 

Pass: 

General 
Knowledge  

50 40 

Hazmat 30 24 

Air Brake  25 20 

Combination 
Vehicles 

20 16 

Tank vehicles  20 16 

Doubles/Triples  20 16 

Passenger 
Vehicles 

20 16 

School Busses 20 16 

CDL License Fees 
¶ CDL: One year (age 20)  $15.00 

¶ CDL: Three year  (age 18 to 21) $30.00 

¶ CDL: Four year (age 21 and over) $40.00 

¶ Seasonal CDL (180 Days)  $39.00 

¶ /ƻƳƳŜǊŎƛŀƭ [ŜŀǊƴŜǊΩǎ tŜǊƳƛǘ  $29.00 

¶ Duplicate CDL or permit  $15.00 

¶ License upgrade   $25.00 

¶ Add Endorsement (after issuance of a 
CDL --does not include written test fee:         $15.00 

¶ Written tests (each)      $  3.00 

¶ Skills Test: County CDL License fee      $10.00 

¶ Skills Test:  CDL Examiner fee- Varies, may 

Be up to $190 per Idaho Legislature.  Most  

Examiner rates are $80-150 statewide.  Your 

DMV office has a list with published rates. 
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