Young Driver Information
The following information does not include
every requirement for a driver's license. The Idaho Driver's Manual
should be consulted for further information.
GRADUATED DRIVER'S LICENSE PROGRAM
Effective January 1, 2001, anyone under 17 years of age who
has not been issued a driver's license in Idaho must successfully complete an
approved driver training program and comply with the requirements of the Graduated
Driver Licensing (GDL) Program. Under the GDL Program, you will be required
to complete a minimum six-month violation-free supervised instruction period,
during which you must:
- be accompanied by a supervising person at least 21 years
old with a valid driver's license who is occupying the seat beside you (no
other passengers are allowed in the front seat),
- assure that all occupants are wearing seat belts or child
restraints if required,
- have the Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP) in your immediate
possession while driving,
- observe all laws regarding alcohol and other intoxicating
- accumulate at least 50 hours of supervised driving time,
ten hours of which must be at night
If you are convicted of violating any traffic laws (moving
or non-moving), violate any restrictions, or have your driving privileges suspended
by the department or the courts while you are operating under the Supervised
Instruction Permit (SIP), the permit will be canceled and you must apply for
a new SIP. Your minimum six months of supervised driving begins all over again
with the issuance of a new permit. You may drive on your SIP for longer than
six months if it has not expired.
Once you have successfully met the requirements of the GDL,
and are at least 15 years of age, you will be required to take and pass the
skills test and the knowledge test before receiving a driver's license.
The skills test and the knowledge test may NOT be taken sooner than six (6)
months from the date you complete the driver's training course or age 17, whichever comes first. If you fail
the written and/or the skills test, you must wait three days before retesting
for each failure.
GDL TRAFFIC VIOLATION PENALTIES
As part of the Graduated Driver's License Program all drivers
under the age of 17 are subject to the following moving traffic violation penalties:
- First violation - Warning
- Second violation - Minimum
- Third violation - Minimum
These penalties are in addition to the cancellation of a Supervised
Instruction Permit (SIP) during the supervised instruction period, or any other
suspensions that may be ordered by a court or the department because of a traffic
violation. For further information regarding suspensions and Idaho's Point Violation
System, refer to the Violation Points section.
NOTE: If your SIP or driver's
license gets suspended, you must pay all applicable reinstatement fees before
your driving privileges can be reinstated. If your SIP has been canceled, you
will have to purchase a new SIP if you are under 17 years old.
It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of
alcohol, drugs, or any other intoxicating substance, or any combination of alcohol,
drugs and/or any other intoxicating substances to drive or be in actual physical
control of a motor vehicle.
In addition, drivers under the age of 21 who have a blood
alcohol content of .02 or higher while operating a motor vehicle will be subject
to suspension of driving privileges for up to one year and can fined up to $1,000.00.
Penalties increase for subsequent violations and/or excessive blood alcohol
Violation of Idaho's alcohol/age laws when you are NOT driving
will also cause your SIP or driver's license to be canceled or suspended. Once
the court-ordered suspension period has passed and all applicable fines and
reinstatement fees have been paid, the driver's license will be reinstated.
If a SIP was canceled, and you are still under the age of 17, you can purchase
a new SIP after you have met all reinstatement requirements.
Completing and passing a driver-training program is required
for anyone under 17 years old who is applying for an Idaho driver's license.
An approved Idaho driver training program consists of a required 30 hours (1,800
minutes) of classroom instruction, six hours (360 minutes) of in-car observation
in a driver-training car, and six hours (360 minutes) of behind-the-wheel driving
with a driver training instructor. The minimum training period for students
attending driver education classes through a public school is 30 days. Commercial (private)
schools are not restricted to a minimum training period.
Most Idaho school districts offer driver training
programs in cooperation with the Department of Education. The public school courses are open
to all Idaho residents between the ages of 14 1/2 and 21, even if they are not
public school students. Commercial (private) driver training courses are
available to anyone 14 1/2 years of age or older.
OUT-OF-STATE DRIVER TRAINING AND LICENSES
If you are under 17 years old and have completed driver training
in another state (and have not been issued a license in that state),
you will be required to provide acceptable proof of driver training completion. If you are not surrendering an out-of-state license,
you will also be required to complete a supervised driving period prior to licensing.
If you are under 17 years old and have an out-of-state driver's
license you will not be required to provide proof of driver training and
the supervised driving period will not be required.
An out-of-state driver's license
may be used for 90 continuous days (from the time an Idaho domicile is established)
before an Idaho driver's license is required.
There are no provisions for exceptions to these requirements.
DRIVER TRAINING / SUPERVISED INSTRUCTION PERMITS
If you are under 17 years old you must have a driver training instruction permit to attend any commercial
or public school driver-training program. The permits expire at age 18 for people 14 1/2 to 17 1/2 years of age; permits expire 180 days from issuance for people 17 1/2 years of age or older. The fee is not refundable.
The documents required to get a driver-training
permit are the same as those required for a driver's license and are listed
in Chapter One of the Idaho Driver's Manual. The certified original copy of
the birth certificate you provide must show mother/father for liability signer
When you have successfully completed a driver-training program, you will be eligible to begin the
supervised instruction period for drivers under the age of 17 as required by
Idaho's Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program.
If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a birth parent or
legal guardian with you at the county driver's license office to sign consent
for you to be licensed. The signer assumes legal responsibility for your actions
as a driver. If the liability signer is not the mother or father listed on your
birth certificate, you must provide acceptable legal documents (adoption records
or court guardianship documents). The identity of the liability signer will
be verified. If the signer's name is different from the one appearing on your
birth certificate, additional documents such as a marriage license or divorce
decree may be required to verify relationship. If the liability signer cannot
be present to sign the application at the county office, an acceptable power
of attorney may be used. The power of attorney procedure requires additional
time for mailing and processing documents.
If you are married, your spouse, who must be at least 18 years
of age, may sign for you. Your spouse's age must be verified from an acceptable
photo document, such as a driver's license. As long as you are under 18, the
person who signs for you may withdraw consent at any time. Withdrawal of consent
will cause the department to cancel your driver's license until you reach age
18 or have another acceptable liability signer.
SCHOOL ENROLLMENT OR COMPLETION
If you are under 18 years of age you will need to provide
acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance in or graduation from a recognized
high school or equivalent program before an instruction permit, driver-training
permit or driver's license can be issued. This proof can be in the form of a
verification of compliance (VOC) letter from an acceptable school or program you
are attending, a high school diploma, or a general education certificate of
completion. Students enrolled in a home-education program must have been enrolled
in the program for at least one school year prior to the verification of attendance
request unless documentation can be provided of meeting the attendance requirement
for the school year immediately prior to the year in which you are enrolled
in the home education program.
During the summer when schools are not in session, verification
of compliance may be provided by submitting a copy of the last semester's report
card. A formal verification of compliance from the school must then be provided
before October 1 of the current year or the driver's training permit, SIP, or
driver's license will be canceled. When your parents sign the liability statement,
they must also sign a statement that you are in compliance with the school attendance
provisions of Idaho Code.
UNDER-AGE DRIVER'S LICENSES
Drivers under the age of 16 who have a valid driver's license
or regular instruction permit may drive only during daylight hours unless they
are accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older who has a valid driver's
license and is sitting in the front seat. No other passengers are allowed in
the front section of the vehicle.
Licensees under the age of 17 are required - during the first six (6) months from the date the license
was issued - to limit the number of passengers in the vehicle who are under the age of 17
to not more than one passenger, unless the passengers are related to the driver by blood, adoption, or marriage.
If you are:
- 15 to 17 years of age, your driver's license will have
a vertical format with a green border around the picture and show "Under 18
until month/day/year." It will expire five days after your 18th birthday.
You should not renew your driver's license before your 18th birthday unless
you will be temporarily living out of state at the time of your 18th birthday.
- 18 to 20 years of age, your driver's license will have
a vertical format with a red border around the picture and show "Under 21
until month/day/year." It will expire five days after your 21st birthday.
You should not renew your driver's license before your 21st birthday unless
you will be temporarily living out of state at the time of your 21st birthday.
YOUR LICENSE/ID CARD AND THE LAW
Whenever you drive, you must have your license with you. Any
misuse or mutilation of your driver's license, permit, or ID card is a misdemeanor
and you can be fined, sentenced to jail, and/or your license can be suspended.
If your license gets worn or damaged, you need to purchase a duplicate.
For your own protection:
- never lend anyone your driver's license, permit, or ID
- never use anyone else's driver's license, permit, or ID
- never display or possess a fraudulent/altered driver's
license, permit, or ID card, and
- never allow an unlicensed driver to drive your vehicle
(in case of an accident, both the driver and the owner of the vehicle are
responsible for damage, injury, or death when permission to drive the vehicle
has been given).
SELECTIVE SERVICE REGISTRATION
Federal law requires all males who are 18 to 25 years of age
to register with the Selective Service System. Eligible males will have the
opportunity to register when they apply for a driver's license or ID card.
Any person who applies for a motorcycle endorsement must pass
both a written knowledge and a road skills test. If you are under 21 years old
you will also be required to successfully complete a motorcycle rider training
course. Rider courses are available throughout Idaho. Call the Idaho Skills Training Advantage
for Riders (STAR) toll free at (888) 280-STAR (7827).
Idaho law requires all persons under the age of 18 to wear
a DOT-approved protective helmet while riding on or operating a motorcycle or ATV.
For additional DMV information, contact Driver Services via e-mail at: firstname.lastname@example.org