Statement of Purpose
|H0039||Recreational Vehicles - Prorated fees||The purpose of this bill is to provide statutory authority for initial license fees for recreation vehicles to be prorated on a monthly basis for a new owner. Subsequent renewals shall pay the annual fees regardless of the registration date. The initial license fee for a recreation vehicle proration has been in practice for an extended period of time.|
|H0041 ||Visually impaired individuals|| Amends existing law to clarify when visually impaired individuals are considered competent to drive a motor vehicle. Any person who applies for or receives any type of tax, welfare or other benefits or exemptions for the blind is conclusively presumed incompetent to operate a motor vehicle. Driver license cancellation can be avoided by submission of a report from a licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist, certifying that the driver’s vision has been corrected to an acuity of 20/40 or better in one eye. |
|H0167||Motor Vehicle Dealers and Salesmen||Consumer Asset Recovery Fund. Currently Idaho Code provides that all licensed vehicle and vessel dealerships have a surety bond as a part of their licensing requirements. The current bonding levels have been in place for more than 15 years, at $20,000 for vehicle dealers, and $10,000 for motorcycles, off-road vehicles and trailer dealers. The surety bond levels have not kept pace with the rising increase in vehicle prices.
The Dealer Advisory Board which is appointed by the Governor to work with the Idaho Transportation Department has researched creating a consumer asset recovery fund which requires all licensed dealers to contribute to a fund that will be solely funded by dealers as part of their annual licensing fees, and will be deposited in the State Treasury jurisdiction. Under this new ICAR fund the consumer will be protected up to $50,000, an increase of 250%.
The fund will pay any related expenses to administer the fund.|
|H0169||Special License Plates||This amends Idaho Code 49-402D to clarify that legislation regarding specialty license plates is not subject to rejection or approval by the Idaho Transportation Department. These amendments specify that the legislature can pass specialty plate legislation before, during or after the application process, but that the plates will not be printed until all prerequisites to the Department of Transportation have been met as outlined in section 2 of Idaho Code 49-402D.|
|H0181||Capitol Maintenance Reserve Fund||This legislation addresses a need in the Capitol Commission’s endowment structure to create a Capitol Maintenance Reserve Fund, out of which expenditures can be made to maintain and repair the Capitol Building as the need arises over time. Currently the Capitol Commission only has two funds, unlike other land grant endowments in Idaho which have a three fund structure. The Capitol Commission has a permanent endowment, out of which no money can be spent, and an income fund which supports the operations of the Capitol Commission, which is about $50,000 per year, and also pays the management expenses charged to the Capitol Commission by the Department of Lands and the Endowment Fund Investment Board (EFIB), about $125,000 and $100,000 respectively. With this legislation, on July 1 of each year the EFIB would approve an amount to be transferred from the permanent endowment into this new Capitol Maintenance Reserve Fund for major repair and maintenance costs for the Capitol Building, and pay for the management expenses charged by the Department of Lands to manage the Capitol Commission endowment lands, and to the EFIB for managing the permanent endowment fund.|
|H0192 ||Concealed Weapons|| Adds to and amends existing law to revise renewal and fee provisions for licenses to carry concealed weapons, providing for the issuance of enhanced licenses to carry concealed weapons. |
|H0273||Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility||This legislation delays the implementation date to allow the Department of Transportation and the insurance industry to coordinate their efforts to effect the legislation of last year. It also provides further clarification of amendments on two technical issues in Section 49-1234, Idaho Code.|
|H0274 ||Traffic Safety Education Program|| Establishes provisions relating to city established traffic safety education programs and related fees. For cities that elect a traffic safety education course, law enforcement officers may offer a cited driver a course alternative to receiving violation points if the infraction violation did not involve a collision. Courses may not be offered if the person has a CDL or is driving a commercial motor vehicle, or if the driver has received a three point reduction in the last three years. Cities may not charge more than $25 for the course. If a driver elected to take the course alternative, the course must be completed within 45 days. If the course is successfully completed, the infraction for which the course alternative was offered shall not result in violation point counts, and the violation will not be deemed a moving violation for purposes of insurance rating. If a driver is offered a course alternative, pays the program fee and is found not eligible, the program fee must be refunded within 10 days of discovery of the error. If the ineligible driver has paid the program fee and has already taken the course, the city must pay the driver $25 as liquidated damages for the error.|
|H0168||Motor Carrier Contracts||Adds to existing law to provide that an indemnity agreement in a motor carrier transportation contract is against the public policy of this state and is void and unenforceable. |
|H0290||Weight Limitations for Motor Vehicles||Amends existing law to provide that vehicles owned and operated by a farmer or his agent may be operated on a highway up to two thousand pounds in excess of any axle, bridge or gross vehicle weight limit and to provide exceptions. |
|H0322||Overweight or Oversize Loads||Created to ensure that local authority of highways has the ability to approve or deny requested 129,000 pound routes. |
|S1007||Staggered Motor Vehicle Registration||Amends existing law relating to motor vehicle registration to add language relating to staggered registration. |
|S1008||Motor Vehicle Salvage Certificates||This proposal will allow the department to gain efficiencies by eliminating usage of the salvage certificate form and utilizing the certificate of title form for salvage vehicle ownership. This will provide for a single inventory of secure forms and would simplify physical handling and management as well as programming for the issuance and printing of these documents in the new DMV automated system. Title certificates issued for salvage vehicles will display a conspicuous ""salvage"" designation.
To accomplish this change, salvage titles will need to be issued solely by the department which stores and secures all certificates of title. Insurance companies and salvage pools who currently issue salvage certificates will instead, forward the prior ownership document with an application for salvage title to the department which will subsequently issue the salvage title. This process will parallel the application/issuance process utilized for all other types of titles. Issuance of salvage titles solely by the department will:
1. Increase security of the stock of blank ownership documents by removing them from insurance companies and salvage pools, and restricting the storage of these documents to department facilities.
2. Improve the timeliness of the recordation of these salvage documents on the DMV system.
3. Improve the quality and consistency of the issued salvage titles.|
|S1043 ||Driver's Licenses / ID Cards|| Amends existing law relating to motor vehicle driver's licenses and identification cards to provide that a licensee or identification cardholder who is a veteran may request that his or her status as such be designated on his or her driver's license or identification card. Requires applicants requesting the “Veteran” designation to present a “DD214” or equivalent document or statement from the Department of Veteran’s Affairs, to the DMV showing character of service on separation as “honorable” or “general under honorable conditions”. |
|S1044 ||Motorcycle Definition|| Amends the definition of a motorcycle by allowing the addition of a two wheel stabilizer kit to the rear of the motorcycle. |
|S1048aa ||Driver's License Suspension|| Amends existing law to provide that the Idaho Transportation Department may not suspend a driver's license for failure to pay an infraction penalty if the infraction involved a parking violation.|
|S1050||Motor Vehicle Dealers||To require that anyone applying for a wholesale dealer license will be required to complete a four (4) hour education program developed and offered by Idaho Independent Automobile Dealers Association, and shall be approved by the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD).|
|S1064||Oversize Loads - Permits||This bill strikes all references to the Pilot Project and deletes language requiring periodic reports to the Legislature and the sunset provision. The bill makes the current 129,000 pound routes in southern Idaho permanent. |
|S1072aa,aah ||Organ Donation Contribution Fund|| Adds to and amends existing law to create the Organ Donation Contribution Fund to provide for duties of the Department of Health and Welfare in administration of the fund and to identify possible recipients of moneys from the fund. Authorizes voluntary contributions to the fund by persons applying for or renewing a driver's license. Authorizes voluntary contributions to the fund by persons applying for or renewing motor vehicle registration. |
|S1081||Motor Vehicle Registration||Amends existing law relating to motor vehicle registration to revise a fee, to provide that certain trailer manufacturers may purchase registration from the department, to establish provisions relating to the issuing of annual registration to certain foreign-based purchasers and to establish provisions relating to the application of an annual fee to a non-expiring registration fee. |
|S1083||Special License Plates||This bill allows owners of specialty license plates to keep their specialty plate, if they choose to do so, as their motor vehicle's license plate for seven years from the date of issuance, regardless of whether the specialty license plate program is discontinued due to low sales during that seven year period of time. Specialty license plate fees paid by the owner after the specialty plate program has been discontinued will be deposited into the state highway account.|
|S1117||Overweight or Oversize Loads - Permits||Allows for request of new 129,000 pound routes by customers to the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD). The bill provides that the authority having jurisdiction over its roads may designate routes by utilizing road and bridge structural integrity engineering standards and public safety established by the ITD.|
|S1179||Transportation Board - Tribal Members||This legislation authorizes the Idaho Transportation Board to enter into agreements with officials from contiguous states to establish provisions allowing the Idaho Transportation Department and contiguous state motor vehicle departments to collect fees and to issue driver's licenses, identification cards, vehicle registrations and titles to tribal members in the same manner as would occur in the individual's home state.|