

Application for Vehicle or Vessel Dealership License

Instructions

This packet contains the forms required to license a vehicle or vessel dealership in Idaho.

WARNING: As of September 1, 2022, <u>all</u> new applicants for a used only and wholesale dealership license must attend an 8 hour prelicensing class and pass a closed-book test.

Confirmation that the class has been attended and the test has been passed must be verified before a license can be issued. To sign up for class, contact either one of our two official providers: Idaho State Independent Automobile Dealers Association at 208-463-7709 and online at www.theassociationid.com; or Independent Training Services at 208-557-4066 and online at www.ldahoDealerEducation.com.

If the applicant's business is in the name of a Corporation, Limited Liability Company (LLC), Limited Partnership (LP), or Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), a copy of the Status from the Secretary of State's Office must be submitted. If the applicant is an individual company or corporation doing business under any other name, an assumed or fictitious name filing must be applied for and recorded with the Secretary of State's Office. Submit verification of this filing with the application.

A home residence that zoning has approved may NOT be used <u>unless</u> the dealership is either a separate building or a ground floor with a separate entrance and no entrance to the residence.

Submit a certificate of liability insurance in the amount of not less than \$25,000 bodily injury or death for one person, or \$50,000 for two people, and \$15,000 for injury or destruction of property.

Submit the Employer Identification Number (EIN) issued by the Federal government.

Submit the completed application, required attachments, and fees to:

Initial Application New and/or Used Dealership (Any Type) ... \$190.00 Initial Application ICAR Fee (Retail Applicants Only)......\$300.00

Dealer Services, Idaho Transportation Department, PO Box 34, Boise ID 83707-0034

Upon completion of the application process, the Dealer Licensing Unit will assign a Motor Vehicle Investigator to inspect the principal place of business for compliance with the Dealer/Salesman Licensing Act and ITD Rules. Upon initial inspection, the dealership will be required to declare their business hours. When the dealer location is in compliance, initial applicants for an Idaho Dealership License are eligible for a ninety (90) day temporary license. A permanent license will be issued pending a successful 90-day follow-up audit by a Motor Vehicle Investigator.

Failure to complete all the necessary forms and supply the required information may delay this process.

Licensing Fees

Fee Calculations

Licensing Fee\$

ICAR Fee (Retail Only) \$

11 - 3,	107 tit 1 cc (1 ccaii criiy) v
Supplemental Lot\$ 44.00	
Change of Location\$ 44.00	Total Amount Due\$
*All credit card transactions are subject to a service fee.	
Checklist	
☐ Fees enclosed - make check payable to Idaho Transportation Depart	ment
Application completed in full, with the notarized signatures of all the	owners/officers/directors/members
☐ Franchises for all new vehicles/vessels sold (may not be within mileage r	estrictions of another matching franchised dealer)
☐ Used and Wholesale Vehicle Dealers - certification of attendance for 8	3-hour prelicensing class and passing test
☐ Proof of Corporate, LLC, or LLP Status from the Secretary of State's	Office and a list of officers/members
☐ Proof of fictitious or assumed name recording from the Secretary of S	State's Office
☐ Zoning approval signed	
☐ Original signed Dealer Bond including all owners' names, corporation	and/or dealership name (if not the same), and the
address of the dealership location	
☐ Copy of Sales Tax Number Certificate	
☐ Liability Insurance Certificate (Acord 25 Form Required)	
☐ EIN – Employer Identification Number	
☐ Personal History form (ITD 3171) for each owner/officer/director	
☐ Verification of phone number listed in a local or online directory	



Application for Vehicle or Vessel Dealership License

Application Date	Dealership EIN		Moto	or Vehicle Inv	esti	gator will provide p	late orde	r forms at th	ne time of inspection
Application Type (Check	k One) (A New App	lication Must be	Comp	oleted for Eac	ch T	ype)			
☐ New Application	☐ Cha	ange of Location	Change	e of 🔲 Char	nge (of Business Name		Supplem	nental Lot
Ownership Change	☐ Ch	ange of Officers/	Membe	ers					
License Type (Check	One)	Vehicle/Vess	el Sal	es Type (Ch	neck	All New Sales T	hat Appl	y <u>OR</u> Chec	k One Used Category)
☐ Wholesale		☐ New Automo	bile/Tr	uck* New		☐ New Trailer*	Used	ATV/UTV/	MC/Snowmobile Only Only
Retail		 ☐ Recreational Vehicle* ☐ New Vessel* ☐ Used Vehicles (Including Trailer/ ATV/UTV/ Motorcycle/Snowmobile/Vessel) 							
*A copy of the franc	chise agreeme	nt for any nev	w veh	icle or ves	sse	l make must be	enclos	ed with yo	our application.
Dealership Informa	tion (Check On	e) (Complete	All t	he Informa	atio	n Requested B	elow an	d see Inst	tructions on Page 1)
☐ Individual	Partnershi	•		Corp			(Pl	ease suhm	nit verification of the filing.)
Limited Partnership (Lf	<u>′ – </u>	ability Partnership	(LLP)	Limite	ed Li	ability Company (LL	C) (' '		iit vermoduom or the iiinig.)
Owner's Name(s) or Corp	oration/LP/LLP/LLC	Name							
Idaho Code 53-504 requires any business doing business as (DBA) a name other than the legal owner's name to file a Certificate of Assumed Business Name with the Secretary of State's Office. Idaho Code 53-504 exempts a corporation from this requirement, unless the corporation is using an assumed business name.									
Dealership or Trade Nam	e (DBA)					ealership Phone		Cell Num	nber
Street Address				City	II.			State	Zip Code
Mailing Address		City		I				State	Zip Code
Dealership email address									Dealer Number (If Applicable)
Name of Person or Persons Having Legal Custody of Real Property Phone Number									
Mailing Address		City						State	Zip Code
List the legal name (a	s shown on thei	r driver's licen	se) ar	nd title of ea	ach	individual owner	, partner	, officer, m	nember, or stockholder of ate sheet, if necessary).
Name	onal mistory form	1 (110 3171) 13	requii	eu ioi euci		arviduai iisted bei	Title	cii a sepai	ate sneet, ii necessary).
Name							Title		
Name Titl			Title	•					
Name Title			Title						
Name Title			Title						
Zoning Authorization (This section must be signed and stamped by the county or zoning authority with jurisdiction over the dealership location if this is a new application, a change of location, or a new supplemental location. A separate authorization may be submitted.)									
I hereby certify, in accordance with <i>Idaho Code 49-117(17)</i> , that the location listed above is in compliance with all county and/or city zoning and other land-use ordinances for the sale and repair of vehicles/vessels.									
Zoning Officer's Signature									
								P	lease Use Official
County of City of						tamp (If Available)			



Idaho Code 49-1610 requires appointment of the Director of the Idaho Transportation Department as a legal agent for the dealership.

Complete Section I if the business is an individual; Section II if it is a partnership, or Section III if it is a corporation or LLC. All owners, partners, members, or a majority of corporate officers must sign and <u>all signatures must be notarized.</u>

Section I Individual		
I certify under Penalty of Perjury that I a	am the sole owner of (Name of Business	
	-	ined in this application are true and correct.
service of process(es) in any action(s) violations of <i>Chapter 16 Title 49 Idaho Co</i>	that may hereafter be commenced agai	e and lawful agent for the purpose of the nst me and/or my dealership for alleged period covered by any license that may be the aforementioned <i>Idaho Code</i> .
(Both husband and wife must sign in this se	ection as an "individual")	
Signature	Signature	
Section II (Check One) □Partnership	☐Limited Partnership (LP) ☐Limited	Liability Partnership (LLP)
We certify under Penalty of Perjury that	we are co-partners or members in (Name	
the business, and that all answers and info		er person is associated in the ownership of ue and correct.
service of process(es) in any action(s) violations of Chapter 16 Title 49 Idaho Co	that may hereafter be commenced aga	le and lawful agent for the purpose of the inst us and/or our dealership for alleged period covered by any license that may be of the aforementioned <i>Idaho Code</i> .
Signature	Signature	Signature
Signature	Signature	Signature
Section III (Check One) ☐Corporation	☐Limited Liability Company (LLC)	
I/We certify under Penalty of Perjury the		
I/We, as Officer(s)/Member(s) of the Transportation Department as my/our tru action(s) that may hereafter be commended. This agency shall continue during	n contained in this application are true and Corporation or LLC, hereby appoint the e and lawful agent for the purpose of	the Director of the Idaho the service of process(es) in any ed violations of <i>Chapter 16 Title 49 Idaho</i> ay be issued to the corporation and so
Officer s/Wernber's Olymature	Officer s/Member's Signature	Officer s/Member's Signature
Officer's/Member's Signature	Officer's/Member's Signature	Officer's/Member's Signature
STATE OF)) §:	
COUNTY OF	• •	
On this day of personally appeared	, before me, the u	ndersigned, a Notary Public in and for said , known to me
proved to me to be the person(s) who exect IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto above written.	•	•
above willen.		Date (the Other City)
(SEAL)		ry Public for the State of Idaho
	My commission expires	

ITD 3170 (Rev. 5/24) dmv.idaho.gov



Vehicle Or Vessel Dealer Bond

ODATION OF STREET	Number
Executed pursuant to demand for Security ur	nder the Dealer and Salesman Licensing Act, <i>Chapter 16 Title 49 Idaho Code</i> .
KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, the	hat I/we (owner's name)DBA
dealership's name) Principal, and	as a
corporation duly authorized to transact sured he state of Idaho to indemnify persons, firm contained. The amount of this bond is	ty business in the state of Idaho are jointly and severally held and firmly bound unto s, or corporations for loss suffered by reason of violation of the conditions hereinafter lers, \$20,000 bond for all retail dealers, unless selling only motorcycles, ATVs,
JTVs, or snowmobiles for which the bond is	
Γhe conditions of this obligation are that:	
Title 49 Idaho Code or rules and regulations	make any fraudulent representation or violate any of the provisions of <i>Chapter 16</i> promulgated by the Idaho Transportation Department; or the provisions of <i>Chapters 49-1418; Chapter 6 Title 48 Idaho Code</i> ; or federal motor vehicle safety standards or I is licensed as a dealer.
	entirety by giving 30 days written notice by certified mail to the Idaho Transportation notice of termination shall be sent by certified mail by the Surety to the Principal
out the liability of the Surety shall apply as effective date of such cancellation.	er obligation shall be incurred under this bond after the expiration of said 30 days, above set out as to any acts or omissions that may have occurred prior to the
	be limited to the amount of this bond, regardless of the number of years this bond number and amount of claims made thereon.
The above-named Principal may be issued a Act, <i>Chapter 16 Title 49 Idaho Code</i> .	a dealer's license, pursuant to the provisions of the Dealer and Salesman Licensing
N WITNESS WHEREOF, we have set our h	ands and seals thisday of
Principal	Surety
Type or Print Name	Type or Print Name
Signature	Signature
x	x
Dealership's Location	Address
Idaho Phone Number	Phone Number
No. 1. Inc. 1.	
Acknowledgement of Surety	
COUNTY OF) } }:
	, before me, a Notary Public in and for said county, personally
appeared	, personally known to me, who being
personally sworn, did say that (s)he is the	e duly sworn representative of the
a corporation duly organized and existing u	under the laws of the state of, that the seal porate seal of said corporation, that the said instrument was signed, sealed, and
executed on behalf of said corporation by aut he execution thereof be the voluntary act and	thority of its Board of Directors, and further acknowledges that said instrument and
·	
(SEAL)	Notary Public Signature X
(- / /	Residing at

My commission expires____

Residing at ___