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Applicant must complete this form in detail and present it to the county DMV office when applying for a Conditional Title. All 
documents must be provided to show proof of ownership. This process only applies to vehicles, trailers, and vessels that 
are 10 or more years old. Failure to comply will result in rejection of title application. See Instructions on Page 2. 

Applicant’s Full Legal Name or Business Name – Printed Applicant’s Idaho Driver’s License Number or SSN / Business’s EIN 

Applicant’s or Business’s Physical Address City State Zip Code 

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Model Year Make Model Body Style 

1) Date the Vehicle was Acquired

2) Documents Supporting Ownership – Check all that apply

Title Bill of Sale Sales Contract

Purchase Price of Vehicle  

Invoices Registration 

Note: 

Other 

If no proof of purchase is available for tax purposes, the tax will be assessed based on NADA Clean Retail value or an 
appraisal from an Idaho Licensed Dealer. The customer may also attest to the purchase price on an indemnifying affidavit. 

3) Describe how you came into possession of the vehicle

4) Indicate why the seller was not able to provide a title

5) Vehicle was Purchased in Idaho If no, enter the state the vehicle was purchased in 

Yes No
6) Full Name of Person Purchased From Address City State Zip Code 

This statement is attached to and made a part of my application for Idaho Certificate of Title to the above-described vehicle/
vessel. I do hereby agree to warrant and defend said Title, and to not only save harmless and defend, regardless of 
outcome, the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) from the expenses of and against all suits, actions, claims, losses, or 
assertion of claims including costs, expenses and attorney fees to which the department may be subjected on account of any 
defect in my Title to the vehicle/vessel in question, but also to pay any and all damages suffered by any person or entity 
resulting from the issuance of this title by the Idaho Department of Transportation. 

I certify that the above-described vehicle/vessel is free from all liens and encumbrances, except as set forth in my application 
for Idaho Certificate of Title. 

I further certify that under penalty of perjury pursuant to the law of the State of Idaho that the foregoing is true and correct, 
and that the signature below is my true and legal signature. 

Date Daytime Phone Number 

X ( ) 

Conditional Title Statement of Facts 
Idaho Transportation Department 

ITD 3405 (Rev. 12/23) 
Supply # 019580463 

dmv.idaho.gov 

Applicant / Business Representative Signature

Applicant’s or Business’s Physical Address 
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Instructions 

A Conditional Title may be applied for when all of the following are true: Fees 
 The vehicle is 10 or more years old
 The applicant cannot satisfy normal title document requirements
 The applicant is an Idaho resident and the vehicle is in Idaho
 The vehicle is NOT abandoned or subject to a possessory lien sale

Title fee: $14.00 
VIN Inspection: $5.00 
Registration Fees, if applicable 
County Title Admin Fee (Go to 
dmv.idaho.gov for your 
county’s admin fee). 

Procedure 
• Step One – Obtain a Motor Vehicle Record search in Idaho or the state where the vehicle is from. If the State of Record is

unknown check the website: www.vehiclehistory.gov. This site will tell you which state to contact for the Motor Vehicle
Record search. If no record is found in any state, print out the document showing no record was found and proceed to
step three.

• Step Two – Attempt to contact the owners and/or lienholder of record by certified mail with return receipt requested. Ask for a
release of interest (customers may use ITD form 3777)

or 
o If you purchased the vehicle from the titled owner, a completed Duplicate Idaho Title Application With

Ownership Transfer form (ITD 3369), signed and notarized. This option can only be used on vehicles 2010 or
older, those with no odometer reading (i.e. campers, trailers, vessels, some off-highway vehicle) and vehicles
with a gross weight over 16,000 pounds.

If you sent certified mail and received the envelope back, do not open it. If you received the signed green card showing 
the letter was delivered, you must give the addressee 30 days to respond to your request. Retain the green card and/or 
envelope;It will be required when titling the vehicle. If 30 days have passed and you have not heard from the addressee, 
you may proceed with the conditional title process.

• Step Three – If no bill of sale or proof of ownership including the purchase price is available, the vehicle must be appraised 
by a licensed Idaho dealer. Tax must be paid on the purchase price, appraised value, or the clean NADA value. The 
customer may attest to the purchase price on an indemnifying affidavit. The VIN inspection may also be completed 
by the Idaho dealer at this time using the form Vehicle Appraisal and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspection (ITD 
3404).

• Step Four – If a VIN inspection wasn’t obtained in Step Three, obtain a VIN inspection from any County Assessor’s DMV 
office, an Idaho Law Enforcement Officer, or a licensed Idaho automobile dealer using the form Vehicle or Hull 
Identification Number Inspection Certification (ITD 3403). If the VIN inspection cannot be completed by one of the above 
listed agents, they may refer you to a Motor Vehicle Investigator.

• Step Five - Complete the first page of this document entitled “Conditional Title Statement of Facts.” The applicant must 
answer all the questions and sign the form. Incomplete or unsigned applications will be returned.

• Step Six - To apply for a Conditional Title, take this form and all supplement documents from the list above to your local 
DMV office.

ITD Forms: The ITD forms referenced in these instructions can be found at dmv.idaho.gov 

Other Circumstances: Some transactions may be more complicated and will not fit the standard criteria described above. In 
these cases, the county or ITD may refer the transaction to a Motor Vehicle Investigator. 

If a vehicle has been acquired as an abandoned vehicle or at a lien sale, the applicant is required to comply with the existing 
laws concerning those processes. Under these circumstances, such vehicles are not eligible for a conditional title. 

Conditional Titles may not be accepted in some states due to the title’s brand or “clouded” status. If other states do accept the 
branded title, they may impose special requirements such as the posting of a surety bond. 

Brand Expiration: The Conditional Title is branded with the statement "ISSUED ON STATEMENT OF APPLICANT, 
BRAND EXP: MM/DD/YY" The brand expires 3 years from the date the Conditional Title is issued. At that time, if there are 
no pending actions or claims that place legal ownership in question and the owner of record shown on the title is still an 
Idaho resident, the owner may surrender the Conditional Title and apply for a clear title. The title fee must accompany the 
application. 
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