

### **Disability License Plates and Placards**

ITD 3392 (Rev. 4/24) Supply # 019580141 dmv.idaho.gov

Applicant's Last Name	First Name			Middle				
Physical Idaho Address		City	<u> </u>		State	Zip		
Mailing Address (if different from above)			City			State	Zip	
Daytime Phone Number (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.)  Qualifying Applicant's Idaho-Issued Driver's License, Identification Card Number, or SSN								
Applicant's Signature	Date							
Medical Certification								
This section must be completed and s nurse. (Please check appropriate box			n, a licensed physi	cian's assistant, or by	a licensed advanced	d-practice pr	ofessional	
As a qualified medical professional I certify that my patient meets one of the following per Idaho Code 49-117:								
☐ Unable to walk two hundred (200) feet or more without the aid of another person, a walker, cane, crutches, braces, prosthetic device, or wheelchair  OR ☐ Unable to walk two hundred (200) feet or more without great difficulty due to the following impairments: neurological, orthopedic, respiratory, cardiac, arthritic, blindness, or the loss of function or absence of a limb or limbs.								
Temporary Disability until No more than six (6) months. Give specific date of expiration. Temporary placards are issued								
for a period of one to six months.								
Permanent Disability One Card Two Cards								
Printed Name of Medical Professional Certifying Eligibility (Print Legibly)  Address								
City, State, Zip Code								
Practitioner's National Provider Identific	Office Phone Number Authorized Signatur			re Date		Date		
	( ) -							
Complete only if you are applying for license plates. Vehicle information section :								
Current Idaho License Plate Number Expiration		Date V	ehicle Identification	Number (VIN)		Motorcycle cc (if applicable)		
Idaho Title Number	Vehicle Year	Mak	e	Body Type	Model	Со	lor	
Complete this section for vehicles over 8,000 lbs. GVW only								
Combined Gross Vehicle Check the appropriate category below.								
Weight Commercial Vehicle Non-commercial Vehicle					Hazardous Material Carrier (Subject to Motor Carrier INS fee)			
<ul> <li>Personalized Plates Only –</li> <li>Enter your plate choice below. Alpha/I to five. You must include a meaning.</li> </ul>						characters, a	all others limited	
First Choice	Second Choice			Third Choice				
<u> </u>	6					<u> </u>		
1 2 3 4 5 Meaning	1 2 3 4 5 6 Meaning			1 2 3 4 5 6 Meaning				
Check here if purchasing Idaho State Parks Passport Extra \$10.00 for 1 Year Extra \$20.00 for 2 Years								
Do Not Send Money! You will be billed for your fees or you may authorize payment with your credit card								
Credit Card Number Expiration Date Authorized Signature								

All credit card transactions are subject to a 3% Access Idaho service fee.

#### **Plate and Placard Use:**

A motor vehicle displaying a special license plate or placard issued by Idaho or any other state for a person with a disability is subject to all Idaho motor vehicle laws and is granted the following privileges when the person with the disability is present:

- Authorization to park in any public parking space with metered parking without being required to pay any parking meter fee.
- Authorization to park for unlimited periods of time in parking zones or areas which are otherwise restricted as to the length of time parking is permitted.
- 3. Special parking privileges do not apply to those zones or areas in which the stopping, parking, or standing of all vehicles is prohibited or which are reserved for special types of vehicles, to areas where vehicular parking is prohibited for periods in excess of forty-eight (48) hours, or to areas where parking is prohibited for certain periods of time in order to allow snow removal, street construction or maintenance, or for other emergency purposes.
- 4. Access to fuel from a full-service pump at the same price as fuel from a self-service pump. This applies to locations where fuel is sold at retail from both pumps (retailers are required only to pump fuel, no other services are included in the law.)
- 5. Self-serve gas stations pump gas when a disabled person with a disability plate or placard requests assistance if there is no able-bodied adult in the vehicle and there is more than one attendant at the gas station. Special window signs will be posted at the gas station.

## Unauthorized Plate or Placard Use

Section 49-410(9), Idaho Code states: "Any use of the plate or placard by any person other than those meeting the definition of disability under section 49-117(7)(b), Idaho Code, to obtain parking shall constitute an infraction punishable by a fine of one hundred dollars (\$100.00)."

Part of Section 49-410(10), Idaho Code states: "Law enforcement officials and/or their designees as authorized by a city or county shall enforce the provisions of this section and are empowered, using reasonable discretion, to check personal identification to determine if the user of the plate or placard is authorized to use accessible parking privileges. Any fines collected shall be retained by the city or county whose law enforcement official issued the citation."

## Fraudulent Application for a Plate or Placard

Section 49-456, Idaho Code, makes it unlawful to "use a false or fictitious name or address in any application for the registration of any vehicle or for any renewal or duplicate, or knowingly to make false statement or conceal a material fact or otherwise commit a fraud in any application."

## How to Apply for Plates or Placards

- 1. Read the use provisions and eligibility section.
- 2. Complete the application print clearly.
- 3. Have your physician complete and sign the eligibility section.

All applications with a plate option selected must be mailed to:

Idaho Transportation Department Vehicle Services – Special Plates PO Box 7129, Boise, ID 83707-1129 or email to

#### Disability.Applications@itd.idaho.gov

Placard only applications can be mailed to the above address or you may go to your local county DMV.

You can obtain additional application forms via the Internet at:

#### DMV.Idaho.Gov

If you have any questions about special plates or placards for persons with disabilities, please write the address above, or call (208) 584-4343.

## Personalized Disability License Plates

Personalized Disability Plates have an <a href="extra">extra</a> \$25.00 initial fee and <a href="extra">extra</a> \$15.00 renewal fee. You <a href="must">must</a> provide a meaning for each personalized plate choice. All personalized disability license plates must be renewed before expiration date. There is no grace period.

The message, in any language, may not carry a sexual term that is vulgar, obscene, or in poor taste, nor consist of a term that is considered to be one of obscenity, contempt, prejudice, hostility, insult, racial degradation, ethnic degradation, profanity, or vulgarity.

#### **Hearing-Impaired Applicants**

TTY/TDD Users: Dial 711 or (800) 377-3529 to use Idaho Relay System.



# Persons With Disabilities

## License Plate and Special Placard Application



ITD 3392 (Rev. 4/24) Supply # 019580141