ORRC,

What are
my payment
options

Pay by Phone. Reinstatement
fees can be paid to the Idaho
Transportation Department with
credit or debit cards by phone
and are processed immediately.
MasterCard and Visa are
accepted. A 3 percent service
charge is added.

Pay by Mail. Checks and money
orders made payable to the Idaho
Transportation Department can
be mailed to the address listed on
the back panel.

Pay Online. Reinstatement fees
can be paid online. Go to
dmv.idaho.gov and click Driver’s
License/ID Cards. The online
service accepts American Express,
Discover, MasterCard and Visa
and takes up to two business days
to process. A 3 percent service
charge is added.

() 208-334-8000
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Contact Us!

Idaho Transportation Department
Division of Motor Vehicles
Phone: 208-334-8000
Fax: 208-334-8739

Website: dmv.idaho.gov

Reinstatement Payments
Idaho Transportation Department
Att: Driver Services
P.O.Box 34
Boise, ID 83713-0034

Correspondence
Idaho Transportation Department
Attn: Driver Services
P.O.Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age,
sex, disability, economic status or Limited
English Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights
Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an
opportunity to address the accommodation.

019676742

Be Sure
to Insure!

dmv.idaho.gov

Did you know? Vehicles operating on Idaho’s
roadways must be registered and insured.

You must carry proof that you have insurance in
your vehicles at all times.

DMV



Why do I need insurance?

Financial responsibility (commonly known as
liability insurance) is required for all vehicles
operating on Idaho roadways. When signing your
vehicle registration, you are certifying the vehicle
has the minimum required insurance.

You must carry proof of insurance in your vehicle
at all times and it must be provided when:

- Requested by law enforcement

- The vehicle is involved in a traffic collision

What are Idaho’s minimum liability insur-
ance requirements for private passenger
vehicles?
- $50,000 for injury/death to more than one
person
- $25,000 for injury/death to one person
- $15,000 for damage to property

What if | am borrowing a vehicle?

A driver who borrows a vehicle must confirm

it is insured by the owner and that the proof

of insurance is in the vehicle. It is the driver’s
responsibility to verify that any vehicle he or she
operates is insured.

What if | am cited for having no insurance
and plead guilty?

Paying a no insurance ticket or pleading guilty
results in a plea of guilty and a conviction. Not
paying the ticket on time also results in a plea of
guilty and a conviction.

No action from the driver after being cited will
result in two separate driving suspensions:
1.0ne for no proof of insurance for one to three
years

2.0ne for failure to pay the citation on time or
contact the court

Both suspensions can be reinstated by following
the instructions in the “Notice of Suspension”
letter that will be sent to you by the Idaho
Transportation Department’s Division of

Motor Vehicles.

If you are suspended for not having proof of
insurance, you need to immediately:

- Contact an insurance company to complete
an SR-22 form and submit it to the Idaho
Transportation Department’s Division of
Motor Vehicles. An SR-22 is a document
proving you have vehicle liability insurance
and proof of financial responsibility.

You may be required to maintain this proof
for one year upon the first offense and three
years for each subsequent offense.

- Verify the transportation department has
received and posted your SR-22 document.

- Pay a reinstatement fee to the transportation
department.

- If you fail to appear in court or pay
the citation, the court will order the
transportation department to suspend your
license for 90 days.

- To reinstate your license, the transportation
department will need proof of payment to the
courts and the reinstatement fee.

The transportation department will send a
“Reinstatement Notice” to the address on record
once all requirements have been met.

Contact the transportation department at
208-334-8000 or go to dmv.idaho.gov for a free
status check.

What if | am cited for having no
insurance and plead not guilty?

If you are cited for having no insurance and
plead not guilty:

- Promptly present to the court proof of
valid insurance for the day you were cited
prior to the court date and request a
dismissal of the ticket.

- Contact the court one week after you have
provided proof of insurance to confirm
the dismissal and obtain a copy of the
dismissal order.

Check with the transportation department to
make sure your driving privileges are valid at
208-334-8000 or go to dmv.idaho.gov for a free
status check.

What if  moved and did not receive the
suspension notice?

Notices are mailed to the last known address
on the driving record. The driver is responsible
for changing his or her address with the
transportation department or local county DMV
office within 30 days of moving. You must also
change any vehicle registration records that
need updating. Changing your address with the
post office or the court does not change it on
your Idaho driving record.

If my driver’s license is suspended in
another state, can I still drive in Idaho?
If driving privileges are suspended by one state,
they are suspended in all states.

It is recommended you confirm
your driving privileges have been
reinstated before driving.




