
Are you ready 
for your First 

License?

Age required to  
participate in a 
driver’s training 
program. 

Age required 
to  receive 

a restricted 
driver’s license.

14 ½

15

Ready to hit the road?
There are numerous requirements for youth 
under 18 to receive a driver’s license.  This 
brochure explains what you need to do to 
become a first-time driver. 

Idaho youth can participate in a driver’s training 
program at age 14 ½ and receive a restricted 
driver’s license at age 15. 

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, 
age, sex, disability, economic status or Limited English 

Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based 
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights 

Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be 
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an 

opportunity to address the accommodation.

Contact Us!
Idaho Transportation Department

Division of Motor Vehicles 
Phone:  208-584-4343 

Email: dlmail@itd.idaho.gov 
Website: dmv.idaho.gov 

Correspondence
Idaho Transportation Department

Attn: Driver’s Licenses
P.O. Box 7129

Boise, ID  83707-1129

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not 

discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, 
sex, disability, economic status or Limited 

English Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based 
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights 

Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be 
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an 

opportunity to address the accommodation.
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First Driver’s
License

Ready for your first Driver’s License?
A guide for youth under age 18.
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Where do I 
begin?

APPLICANTS UNDER 18
If you are under 18 years old, 
you must:

APPLICANTS UNDER 17
If you are under 17 years old, you must 
also do the following:

• Provide acceptable proof of enrollment
and attendance at or graduation from
a recognized high school or equivalent
program. Your attendance or graduation
can be verified by providing one of the
following:

	º Verification of compliance form from a
recognized high school or equivalent 
program

	º High school diploma
	º High school equivalency

• Have a parent or legal guardian
accompany you to your county Sheriff’s
DMV office and sign a consent form. The
signer assumes legal responsibility for
your actions.

• Complete and proof of an approved driver’s
training program.

• Complete the requirements of the
Graduated Driver License Program. In this
program, you will be required to:

	º Complete a minimum six-month
violation-free supervised instruction 
period with a licensed driver over                 
age 21

	º Accumulate at least 50 hours of 
supervised driving time, of which 10 
hours must be at night

• Have a parent or legal guardian accompany
you to your county Sheriff’s DMV office and
sign a consent form. The signer assumes
legal responsibility for your actions.

• Provide proof you have completed both
the driver’s training and Graduated Driver
License programs.

Pass your tests. Complete and pass 
the following tests at your county 
Sheriff’s DMV office:

• Vision screening test
• Knowledge test
• Road skills test

Apply in person. Apply for the 
driver’s license at your county Sheriff’s 
DMV office. For the office nearest 
you and its hours of operation go to                
dmv.idaho.gov.

For more Information, go to
dmv.idaho.gov and click the Driver’s 
License/ID Cards tab, and then select 
the “Young Drivers” link.
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