
Don’t 
forget these 
important

tips!

Get a National Motor Vehicle Title 
Information System (NMVTIS)  vehicle 
history report before you buy. Protect 
yourself from internet sales and 
individuals selling vehicles without telling 
you it has been salvaged, flood damaged 
or junk. Vehicles with these brands can 
be worth much less than their listed sales 
price and worse can yet, can be unsafe. 
Get this report at dmv.idaho.gov

The bill of sale or properly assigned and 
dated title may be used as a 72-hour  
permit prior to registering the vehicle 
at your county Assessor’s DMV office 
(excluding weekends and holidays).

File a release of liability form to protect 
yourself after the sale. The form is 
attached to the bottom of the title or 
available at dmv.idaho.gov

Keep your license plates when selling 
your vehicle (see exceptions below). 
The plates belong to you and you may 
transfer them to another vehicle. 
(Exceptions include vehicles such as ATVs or 
UTVs with black on white “restricted plates.”)

After acquiring a vehicle, you must apply 
for title within 30 days. You must title in 
your name before reselling.

Check for vehicle recalls at dmv.idaho.gov 
and schedule any necessary repairs. Check 
before buying any used vehicle.
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Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, 
age, sex, disability, economic status or Limited English 

Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based 
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights 

Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be 
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an 

opportunity to address the accommodation.

Contact Us!
Idaho Transportation Department

Division of Motor Vehicles 
Phone: 208-584-4343

Website: dmv.idaho.gov 

Correspondence
Idaho Transportation Department

Attn: Titles
P.O. Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and 
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not 

discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, 
sex, disability, economic status or Limited 

English Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based 
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights 

Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be 
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an 

opportunity to address the accommodation.
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A guide for titling vehicles
and how to protect yourself

when buying or selling a vehicle. 
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If I buy a car, what do I need to do about 
the title?

• If you buy a vehicle from an Idaho-licensed
dealer, the dealer will complete and process
the title application.

• If you borrow money to buy a vehicle from
a private party or out-of-state dealer, your
lending institution may complete the
application for title on your behalf.

• If you buy a vehicle from a private party or
out-of-state dealer and do not finance it,
you must apply for title at a local DMV office
within 30 days to avoid a penalty. For a first
time Idaho title, you must bring the vehicle
to your county Assessor’s DMV office for a
vehicle identification number inspection.

Do not buy a vehicle without a title!
Require the seller to provide the title to the 
vehicle, and then make sure the seller:

• Is the owner shown on the title or is the
legally appointed agent shown on a power
of attorney form provided to you. No one
else can sell the vehicle unless he or she is a
licensed car dealer conducting the sale at the
place of business.

What is Idaho’s titling law?
Idaho law requires you to title a vehicle within 30 
days after the purchase date. If you do not apply 
for a title within that time, you may be charged a 
penalty. A title demonstrates the legal ownership 
of a vehicle or boat. 

What vehicles must be titled?
All vehicles operated or pulled on public 
highways must be titled. This includes cars, trucks, 
motorcycles, travel trailers, transport trailers and 
boat or utility trailers that have an unladen weight 
of 2,000 pounds or more along with:

• Slide-in truck campers.
• All-terrain vehicles, utility type vehicles, off-road

motorcycles and snowmobiles with engines 50cc
or larger.

• Manufactured homes that have not been
formally declared real property.

• Most boats manufactured after 2000 with a
permanently attached mode of propulsion
such as inboard/outboard motors, personal
water crafts and sailboats and outboard
motorboats over 12 feet in length. Similar
vessels manufactured or acquired prior to
2000 must be titled if they are being financed.

• Does the signed title list all sale information
including the selling price and odometer
reading? It is a felony to list a false selling
price on a bill of sale or title. A county
Assessor’s DMV office and Idaho State Tax
Commission can look up your vehicle’s fair
market value and compare it to the
sale price.

• Do not plan on receiving a “lost title” later.
Have it in your hand before you finish buying
the vehicle to avoid problems later.

Without a title, you could be burned!
Without a properly signed title:

• You will not be able to register and title the
vehicle in your name.

• The vehicle may be towed by a repossession
agent if there is an unpaid lien.

• The vehicle may be reported as stolen and
law enforcement may impound it.

• The vehicle may carry a “rebuilt salvage” title
or other brand and be worth thousands less
than what you paid for it.

Did you know that ALL  vehicles operated 
or pulled on public highways must be 
titled?208-584-4343 dmv.idaho.gov
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