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STAR
CARD

IDAHO’S
REAL ID

Star Card - Idaho’s REAL ID
is available now!

The Star Card is Idaho's version
of the REAL ID credentials. It

is an Idaho driver’s license or
identification card that adds a
star to show it is in compliance
with national REAL ID security
standards.

Starting May 7, 2025, you will
need an Idaho Star Card driver’s
license, identification card,
passport or military identification
to fly commercially or enter a
federal facility. The Star Card is
not mandatory.

To learn more about the Star Card
and the documents you will need
to bring to your county Sheriff's
DMV office, go to itd.idaho.gov/
starcard.

() 208-334-8000

DMV

DMV.IDAHO.GOV

Contact Us!

Idaho Transportation Department
Division of Motor Vehicles
Phone: 208-334-8000
Fax: 208-334-8739

Website: dmv.idaho.gov

Correspondence
Idaho Transportation Department
Attn: Driver Services
P.O.Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age,
sex, disability, economic status or Limited
English Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights
Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an
opportunity to address the accommodation.

019707950

Welcome
to Idaho!

dmv.idaho.gov
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New to Idaho?

What people moving from another state or U.S.
territory to Idaho need to know about applying
for an Idaho driver’s license and titling and
registering vehicles.



You must apply for an Idaho
@ driver’s license within 90 days of
moving to Idaho

- Whether your out-of-state license has expired
or not, you need to apply for an Idaho driver’s
license within 90 days of moving to Idaho.

- Students attending an Idaho college or
university and members of the military on
active duty and dependents do not need to
apply for an Idaho driver’s license if they have
a valid out-of-state license

Bring your out-of-state driver’s
@ license to your county Sheriff’s
DMV office

- When applying for an Idaho driver’s license,
your out-of-state driver’s license must be
surrendered to your county Sheriff’s
DMV office.

- You will need to provide proof of U.S.
citizenship or lawful presence as well as your
identity. This is commonly accomplished by
providing a U.S. certified birth certificate and
an out-of-state driver's license or identification
card.

- If you do not have an out-of-state credential
you can check the Idaho Driver's Manual for a
list of other acceptable photo identity

documents. The manual is available at your local
DMV offices or Online at dmv.idaho.gov.

- If the name on your birth certificate does not
match your current name, you must bring a
secondary identity document (See the Idaho
Driver’s Manual for a list of acceptable photo
identity documents. The manual is available at
local DMV offices or Online atdmv.idaho.gov).

Bring a document to prove you
are now a resident of Idaho

You will be required to show proof of
Idaho residency to receive an Idaho driver’s license.
Documents such as a lease or rental agreement,
utility bills* or employment records are acceptable.
* Two proofs of residency for a Star card.

You must complete and pass

two tests

To successfully apply for an Idaho driver’s
license, you must complete and pass a visual
screening test and a knowledge test of Idaho’s
traffic rules. To review the Idaho Driver's Manual
and take practice tests, go to dmv.idaho.gov. If you
are a new driver, you will also be required to pass a
road skills test.

Make it
official!

You must title and register your vehicle within 90
days of moving to Idaho. Whether your out-of-state
vehicle registration has expired or not, you must title and
register your vehicle within 90 days of moving to Idaho.

Make sure your vehicle meets Idaho’s

minimum insurance standards

You must have your vehicle insured with a company
licensed to do business in Idaho and have the
following minimum coverage:

- $25,000 for injury or death of one person in any
one accident

- $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons
in any one accident

- $15,000 for damage or destruction of property
of others in any one accident

What to bring to your county Assessor’s
DMV office

The vehicle you want to title and register.
A county employee will inspect the vehicle’s
identification number at that time.

- Your vehicle’s current title and registration. If the
vehicle has not been titled in your name, be sure
the title has been signed over to you by the seller.
You will also need the bill of sale from the seller or
to have the seller enter the price in the designated
area of the title.

© If the title is being held by a lienholder, bring
the lienholder's name and address

° Ifyour title has been lost, you will need to apply
for a duplicate title from the state of issuance

- Your personal identification. You will need
to bring your current driver’s license, state
identification card, passport or Social Security card.

- (Cash, check or credit card to pay the fees and
taxes. Fees and taxes for registering a vehicle in
Idaho vary depending on what type of vehicle you
have, its age, how much it is worth and the county
in which you live. For a listing of fees, go to
dmv.idaho.gov.






