

Dealer Guide to Idaho Statutes

Idaho Transportation Department

This form provides basic descriptions of the Idaho Codes that apply directly to your dealership and references for further research.

Department Authority

40-510 MVI commission as limited peace officers to enforce specific Idaho Codes which include

Chapter 5 and 16.

49-1602 Promulgate rules and regulations to administer dealer requirements.

Require licensing standards for application and principal place of business. Issue, refuse to

issue, suspend or revoke a license, including criteria for such actions.

Investigate complaints and violations of Idaho requirements.

Initiate timeline for complete disqualification from licensure if dealer is convicted.

Definitions

49-105	A dealer is anyone in the business of buying or selling 5 or more vehicles in a calendar year.
49-117(17)	Includes principal place of business, hours, records, zoning, building type and signage.
49-1606	Includes definition of what type of business each type of license is able to engage in.

Dealerships and Salesmen Requirements

49-1601 A license is required if acting as a dealer or salesman.

A license is required to sell a vehicle not titled in your name.

49-1609A Dealers are required to pay off a lien on a vehicle they take possession of within 10 days.

Acts Prohibited by Dealers

49-1613 Outlines unlawful acts by dealerships.

Grants the Department the ability to enforce IDAPA Rule.

49-1418 Altering a VIN or any identification number is a *felony*.

49-1629 Odometers that are changed must be set to the same mileage or set to "0." Setting the mileage

to anything else is illegal. A notice of odometer change is required to be attached to the left door

frame.

Title Requirements

49-502	Requirement to deliver a title upon sale of the vehicle.
49-504	Requirement for the dealer to file for the title in the buyer's name.
	Dealers do not need to transfer the title into their name on vehicles held in stock.
	Temporary 72-hour permit on the BOS/title application from the time of purchase.
49-1609	Dealers have 30 days to file a title.
49-518	Failure to provide a valid title transferrable to the buyer can be a <i>felony</i> .

Altering or forging a title is a *felony*.

Using a fictitious name or making false statements on an application is a *felony*.

49-521 Dealers are required to maintain proper deal jackets.

Dealers must have documentary evidence of their right to possess every vehicle in stock.

IDAPA Rules

39.02.03	Additional rules concerning principal place of business and records inspections.
----------	--

39.02.07 Requirements to disclose brands on titles.

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/