Fee Schedule

Idaho Commercial Driver’s License

1 year (age 20, K or intrastate restriction)

2 year (age 20, K or intrastate restriction)

4year (age 21 and over)

Commercial Driver’s License Learner’s
Permit

Duplicate Commercial Driver’s License
or Permit

License Classification Change
(upgrade)

Endorsement Addition
(after issuance of a CDL. Does not include
test fee)

Written Test (each)

Skills Test
($10 to driver’s license office and not
more than $190 to skills tester)

Motorcycle Endorsement

() 208-334-8000

$15

$30

$40

$29

$15

$25

$15

$5

$200

max

$15
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Contact Us!

Idaho Transportation Department
Division of Motor Vehicles
Phone: 208-334-8000
Email: CDLHelpDesk@itd.idaho.gov
Fax: 208-334-8586

Website: dmv.idaho.gov

Correspondence
Idaho Transportation Department
Attn: Commercial Driver’s Licenses
P.O.Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and
the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ITD does not
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age,
sex, disability, economic status or Limited
English Proficiency.

Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based
on language or disability should contact ITD Civil Rights
Office at civilrights@itd.idaho.gov. Requests should be
made as early as possible to ensure the state has an
opportunity to address the accommodation.

019635560

Overview of a

Commercial
Driver’s License

dmv.idaho.gov
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Do you need a commercial
driver’s license?

This brochure will help you determine if you need a
commercial driver’s license and if so, what kind?



There are three - Class A
types of Commercial - ClassB
Driver’s Licenses: . Class C

Types of CDL

CLASS A

Combination vehicles with a gross
combination weight rating (GVCWR) of 26,001
pound or more if the GVWR of the vehicle
being towed is greater than 10,000 pounds.

A driver with a Class A license may, with

the proper endorsements, operate vehicles
requiring a Class B, C, or D license. GVWR is
assigned by the manufacturer.

CLASS B

Single vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 or more
pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle
of 10,000 pounds GVWR or less. A driver

with a Class B license, may, with the proper
endorsements, operate vehicles requiring a
Class Cor D license.

CLASS C

Vehicles not meeting the definitions of Class
A or B, but are either designed to carry 16 or
more people (including the driver) or carry
an amount of hazardous materials requiring
placards. A driver with a Class C license may
also operate vehicles requiring a

Class D license.

J

Drivers of passenger cars need a Class D
driver’s license.

() 208-334-8000

Which class of Commercial Driver’s License do you need?

Which Class of Commercial
Driver’s License do you need?

Is the vehicle a
combination vehicle towing
a unit over 10,000 pounds
(GVWR)?

Does the vehicle 7%
or combination
of vehicles have a
Gross Combined
Weight Rating
(GCWR)
of 26,001 or
more pounds

Yes

Does the single vehicle have B
a GYWR of 26,001 or more
pounds?

Is the vehicle designed to RN
carry 16 or more people
(including the driver)?

Is the vehicle carrying
an amount of hazardous
material requiring placards?

Yes

Note: A bus may be
either Class B or C

depending on whether You DO NOT
the GVWR is 26,001 or need a CDL
more pounds.

The presence of air brakes or a tank does not always
define a vehicle that needs a CDL. Call for assistance.
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Endorsement Types:
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Double/Triple Trailer (T)

Hazardous Materials (H)

Passenger (P)
(vehicles designed to carry 16
or more people including the driver)

School Bus (S)

Tanker (N)

Exempt Vehicles:

Drivers of the following vehicle types may be
exempt from obtaining a Commercial
Driver’s License:
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Recreation Vehicles
for personal use

Military Vehicles
Emergency Vehicles

Farm Vehicles

Questions about Exempt
Vehicles? Call the Idaho
Transportation Department’s
Division of Motor Vehicles at
208-334-8294 or email
CDLHelpDesk@itd.idaho.gov.




