TEN EASY STEPS TO A C.D.L.

operation)

OBTAIN A CDL MANUAL:  Pick up a copy of the Idaho CDL manual at
your local County Driver’s License office. The most current version of
the Idaho CDL manual is also available online here:
https://itd.idaho.gov//wp-content/uploads/2016/06/cdl_manual.pdf

You can download the PDF file to your phone, computer, or tablet, or
obtain a paper manual. Earlier versions of the manual are fine for
general study, but be sure to review the first chapter in the latest
version of the manual to keep up with FMCSA required changes.

REVIEW MEDICAL REQUIREMENTS/ OBTAIN DOT MEDICAL:  Read the
applicable pages in Chapter One of the CDL manual to see if you are
required to have a medical examiner’s certificate for the driving you
intend to do. MOST commercial driving activities require a medical
certificate. The following link will take you to a list of commodities
and whether they are exempt (no
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required for all commercial hauling
purposes):
https://isp.idaho.gov/cvs/commodities/

A Department of Transportation (DOT)
physical examination is conducted by a
licensed medical provider and may be
valid for up to 24 months. The examiner
may also issue a medical examiner's
certificate for /ess than 24 months

Signature of Medical Examiner
Medical Examiner Name (piease print or type)
Medical

Examiner's State License, Certificate, or Registration Number

Issuing State

Signature of Driver

when it is desirable to monitor a
medical condition. The provider must

Address of Oriver

be listed on the “National Registry of

Certified Medical Examiners”. A list of National Registry certified providers in your area can be found here:

https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/home

STUDY THE REQUIRED PORTIONS OF THE CDL MANUAL: Near the front of the
CDL manual is a chart that will tell you what chapters to study for the

Commercial License and related endorsement(s) you desire.

Your

particular equipment combination will dictate what you need to study and

test for. If you have a vehicle with air brakes, you'll need that test.

For a

class A CDL, you must take the Combination Vehicles test. The General
Knowledge test is required of all new CDL applicants. Details on testing

are below.



https://itd.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/cdl_manual.pdf
https://isp.idaho.gov/cvs/commodities/

4. GOTO A COUNTY SHERIFFS DRIVER'S LICENSING OFFICE:

START THE CDL PROCESS: Tell the Examiner you
are there to begin the process of obtaining a CDL
They will have you complete an application for a
CDL, and will help you declare a driving category—a
federal rule to determine whether you plan to drive
only in Idaho or interstate, and whether you are
medical card required (“non-excepted”’) or not
required (“excepted”).

BRING YOUR MEDICAL CERTIFICATE: If you are required to have a medical certificate, obtain it as soon
as possible and take it with you to the DMV. They will scan a copy of your medical certificate card to be
incorporated into your driving record. All commercial drivers who are “non-excepted” must submit a
medical certificate to your county DMV or ITD when obtained and upon each renewal.

e If you are for some reason ineligible to obtain a DOT Medical, you CANNOT drive a commercial
vehicle in interstate commerce, unless you plan to work for a government agency or other
excepted interstate category. This website contains more information about CDL medical
requirements: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/medical.ntm

BRING YOUR BIRTH CERTIFICATE, US PASSPORT, or OTHER PROOF OF PERMANENT

LEGAL PRESENCE |IN THE UNITED STATES. Federal rules require all applicants for a

Commercial Learner's Permit or CDL to present proof of legal presence in the United

States to the DMV to be entered on the driver's record. This will only need to be done one

time.

PROVIDE PROOF OF IDAHO RESIDENCY. Federal regulations require all applicants for a
Commercial Learner's Permit or CDL to provide proof of Idaho residency. Proof of Idaho
residency can be a utility bill, official government tax document, mortgage/lease/rental
agreement, etc. Documentation must be dated within 1 calendar year and include the
physical residence address and your full name.

TAKE THE REQUIRED KNOWLEDGE TESTS: When you are ready, take your written
knowledge tests. The written tests are $5.00 each. Some county DMV offices have
limitations on times they do testing, or require appointments to test. Call your DMV to see
what their testing hours are. You should take and pass the General Knowledge test
before attempting to take other tests. While it is
permissible to do so, most applicants should not
attempt to take multiple tests on the same day. Test
results remain valid for one year from the date they
were passed- if you don't obtain your CDL in that
year you must re-take all the written tests. /f you fail a|
test you can re-test in three days (and pay another
five dollars).
SKILLSTEST FEE: The county DMV agent will collect a skills test fee of $10 from you. All knowledge tests
required for the license you are seeking must be passed before the skills test can be administered. The
skills test fee is the county portion of your road test. The CDL Examiner will charge a separate fee for
the test payable directly to the Examiner at the time of testing.
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http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/medical.htm

OBTAIN A COMMERCIAL LEARNER'’S PERMIT: CIAL LEARNER'S PE

You must obtain a Commercial Learner’s Permit lmHOM"”"'“ s sy b s s
(CLP) to obtain or upgrade a commercial license. i
The permit costs $29 and is valid for one year. It | |
allows you to drive a truck or bus on public
streets to practice driving a commercial vehicle. | |
You must have a licensed CDL driver rated to |
drive the equipment you are practicing in riding
with you at all times when on public streets. The
licensed driver must be sitting in the right seat
(trucks) or in the row behind the driver (busses) with you when you are practicing on
public streets. Federal Rules require you hold a CLP for at least 14 days before you can
take a skills test.
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5. COMPLETE ENTRY LEVEL DRIVER TRAINING: As of February 7, 2022, CDL I

TRAININ
Applicants must comply with Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) regulations. PROVIDER mlsr?v
These rules require that all entry-level drivers of commercial motor vehicles LEARN MORE AT:

(CMVs) receive training from a provider listed on FMCSA's Training Provider http://tpr.fmesa.dot.gov
Registry. To be eligible to take required skills tests, commercial driver’s or

license (CDL) applicants must have completed applicable entry-level driver zcoadltrs?ng = _ EIF
training from a registered training provider. LEARN MORE at: g:eyj‘uTEFa % :
http://tpr.fmcsa.dot.gov  or scan the code using the camera on your | smartphone. [EIE
smartphone. L -

6. PRACTICE THE VEHICLE INSPECTION:  During the 14 day waiting period, practice and prepare for your test.
The pre-trip vehicle inspection must be done on any commercial vehicle you test in, regardless of size or
type. Most applicants who fail the skills test do so by not preparing well enough for the pre-trip inspection.
Do the following before attempting to take your skills test:

i STUDY CHAPTER 11 THOROUGHLY: If a
component is on your vehicle and in Chapter 11,
you need to memorize it for the test. There are
plenty of components you are required to
memorize, so concentrate on those items. It is
imperative that you know how to do the brake test
on the vehicle you will be testing in. Doing the
brake check improperly will result in failing the
test. You will have 45 minutes to complete your
pre-trip inspection on test day.

i WATCH THE VIDEO(s): The videos listed below are extremely helpful to prepare you to take
the test. These short productions will help show you HOW TO DO THE VEHICLE INSPECTION;
that is, what the examiner expects you to describe to him or her as you are inspecting your
vehicle. This will give you a much better idea of how to conduct your inspection on test day.
Note: Watching videos alone will not thoroughly prepare you to take the skills test. Use the
videos as a helpful guide to show you how to tell the inspector what you are looking for, in
addition to studying all required inspection components listed in Chapter 1.



http://tpr.fmcsa.dot.gov/

2 TRUCKINSPECTION VIDEO: Produced by Steven Lloyd, an Idaho
CDL Examiner in Meridian. Steve's video can be found at:
https://www.cdlidaho.com/ -- Click on the “video” link at the top of

the page. It also shows the backing exercises; it's a very useful
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video.

2 TRUCKINSPECTION VIDEO:
Produced by Harry Packwood,
an Idaho CDL Examiner in Boise. Also a very good study 7
resource. It can be found at: IDAHOGOLTRAINGCOH-
https.//www.youtube.com/watch?v=PScgfTEchOE WSREER

i SCHOOL BUS VIDEQ: There are several helpful videos
on how to inspect school busses on YouTube. Here is one that
covers the vehicle inspection in a concise, efficient manner.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOkJqDoCzak8

¥ Note: T7hese are public-source YouTube videos that have
been reviewed by staff at the /ldaho Transportation
Department and are recommended. There is no cost to watch
these videos. ITD does not guarantee that this content will remain available.

7. PRACTICE THE BACKING MANEUVERS DESCRIBED IN CHAPTER 12: Refer to the diagrams and measurements
shown in Chapter 12, and set up a practice course in a suitable area if possible.

i The “Straight line back” and “Offset Back’
maneuvers are required of all applicants.

i The Examiner will select either the alley dock or
parallel park maneuver on test day, so you should
practice both of those maneuvers.

2 Time Limits on the tests are designed to allow
sufficient time for beginning drivers (who have practiced) to complete the maneuvers without penalty.
Unprepared applicants who go over the time limit will have points added to their score, and may not
pass the exercise.

2 Use “looks”, pull ups, and reference markers as described in the manual if you need them during the
test. Just like in the “real world”, pulling up your vehicle or getting out to check your position during
backing is less costly than running into something!

i Excessive pull-ups are deducted from your score, but the deduction for pulling up is less than that of
crossing a boundary line or cone and causing an encroachment.

8. PREPARE FOR THE ROAD TEST: For the road test, review Chapter 13 in the CDL manual.

# Make sure you know how to conduct a proper “Stop/Start” exercise, as described in the manual,
@& Know where to stop at intersections.
@ |f taking a school bus test, you will need to study the student discharge requirements in Chapter 10.



https://www.cdlidaho.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PScgfTEchOE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOkJqDoCzak8

Road Test preparation, continued....
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9. SCHEDULE & TAKE THE SKILLS TEST: Contact one of the
CDL Skills Test Examiners in your area to make an
appointment for your test. The test normally takes about
two hours. Most Idaho CDL examiners have full time jobs
and do tests as a part time service to the state, so you
may have to work around their schedule. The Skills Test
fee is set by each examiner; the fee is not to exceed $190
per test per Idaho Code. Most examiners take cash only,
but some accept other payment methods. Refer to the

Make sure you move your head as you check your mirrors, pass through intersections, etc. so the
examiner can see that you are checking for traffic and hazards.

’ Maintain frequent checks in your mirrors.

Keep both hands on the wheel unless you are shifting.

Know how your vehicle off-tracks. Running over curbs or other objects will result in failing the
test.

Know how to shift the vehicle you are driving. Practice until you can shift smoothly.

Obey all traffic laws and travel at the speed limit unless weather or traffic requires an adjustment.
Pay attention to highway signs that a commercial driver should observe. You will be tested on
them!

CDL Examiner list for examiners, availability of rental
vehicles, etc. Here is the link: https://itd.idaho.gov/itddmv/?target=drivers-license-id-cardst#cdl

IMPORTANT NOTES:

&
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FMCSA rules require that you hold your Commercial Learner's Permit for 14 days minimum before
testing, even if you have a CDL and are just upgrading your license

You MUST contact the examiner well in advance- Examiners are required to notify ITD @ minimum of
48 hours before any CDL test

BRING THE RIGHT EQUIPMENT TO THE TEST! MANY VEHICLES WILL RESULT IN A RESTRICTED LICENSE:

« “E’ RESTRICTION: Testing in a truck or bus with an automatic transmission will result in a
restriction being placed on your CDL that you can ONLY drive commercial vehicles with

automatic transmissions.

“0” RESTRICTION: Testing in a Class A combination that is NOT a TRACTOR-TRAILER with a fifth

wheel hitch will result in a restriction being placed on your CDL that you can only drive Class A

vehicles that are not Tractor Trailers. This restriction includes most log trucks and other big

trucks with pintle hitches!

s “L” RESTRICTION: Testing in a vehicle that does not have air brakes will result in this restriction.

e
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Have a CDL licensed driver go with you to the test site unless you can legally drive your commercial
vehicle there under a farm or other exemption.

Don'’t forget your: Driver’s license, commercial learner’s permit, registration, and proof of insurance.
Make sure your vehicle’s lights and equipment are working properly, or you cannot take the test in
that vehicle. Our examiners appreciate it if the interior of your truck or bus is reasonably clean on
test day.



https://itd.idaho.gov/itddmv/?target=drivers-license-id-cards#cdl

10. OBTAIN & ADDTO YOUR CDL: Once you pass the skills test, the examiner will transmit your test results to [TD
for processing.
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@ You MUST return to the county DMV to have your new TDAHQ™ —COMMERCAL DRVERS [IGERSE
Commercial License issued. iy e T

@ The cost is $40 and it's good for 4 years. e

@ Once you have your “base” CDL, you can later add ” .
endorsements as needed.
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TYPICAL C.D.L. ACQUISITION COSTS

ITEM COST NOTES AVERAGE TOTAL
WRITTEN TESTS S5EACH $15-20 depending on endorsements desired $15

Typically $ 120-150 to examiner, $10 to

140 if usi
SKILLS TEST S Varies  county, up to 5200 or more for rental truck LU usmg
. your own vehicle
if needed
COMMERCIAL $29 Required for all CDL tests and upgrades, $29
LEARNER’S PERMIT and to practice on roadway prior to testing
$15 to add an endorsement after original
LICENSING VARIES issue; $25 to upgrade a license; 540 for 4 $40 TYPICALLY
year CDL
IF S$60-150- costs vary widely; every two
MEDICAL EXAM REQUIRED years or more frequently if needed 2125

$86.50 for the Hazmat Threat Assessment
every four years $92
+ S5 written test every 4 years

HAZMAT IF
ENDORSEMENT REQUIRED

We hope you have found this information useful. For any questions email to
CDLHelpdesk@itd.idaho.gov






